Statement · Los Angeles, CA
California State University-Los Angeles
Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $2,877 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $18,403.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $59,211 ten years after entering, the 72nd percentile among public 4-years.
53% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Enrollment, 2023
- 28,820
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $18,403 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $2,877 and $13,578 a year depending on income at California State University-Los Angeles.
Statement of cost · California State University-Los Angeles
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $18,403
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $2,877
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $3,967
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $7,160
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $2,877 |
| $30k–$48k | $2,974 |
| $48k–$75k | $5,002 |
| $75k–$110k | $7,355 |
| Over $110k | $13,578 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $59,211; the median graduate who borrowed owes $13,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $45,702
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $51,588
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
72nd percentile among public 4-years - $59,211
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
23rd percentile among public 4-years - $13,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $11,966
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.
- Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $13,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $45,702 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $51,588 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $59,211 |
| Median graduate debt | $13,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 896 | $64,019 | $13,750 |
| Psychology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 412 | not reported | $24,994 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Bachelor's Degree | 402 | $46,726 | $12,331 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | 394 | $54,833 | $12,500 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | Bachelor's Degree | 367 | $56,580 | $11,679 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | 279 | $59,861 | $11,000 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Bachelor's Degree | 274 | $57,102 | $13,750 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 188 | not reported | not reported |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Bachelor's Degree | 171 | $42,918 | $15,068 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 170 | $100,735 | $15,321 |
| Public Health | Bachelor's Degree | 162 | $56,290 | $12,500 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Bachelor's Degree | 158 | $38,595 | $19,087 |
Show all 27 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | 147 | $120,317 | $18,964 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Bachelor's Degree | 139 | $47,969 | $15,171 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | Bachelor's Degree | 132 | $45,345 | $12,500 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 130 | $129,508 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 126 | $94,122 | $13,000 |
| Social Work | Master's Degree | 124 | $88,174 | not reported |
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 123 | $56,983 | $13,000 |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 108 | $55,331 | $10,614 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Master's Degree | 55 | $142,334 | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | Master's Degree | 13 | $102,242 | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Master's Degree | 26 | $132,333 | not reported |
| Special Education and Teaching | Master's Degree | 95 | $94,553 | not reported |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | Master's Degree | 24 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 51 | $96,348 | $14,676 |
| Civil Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 63 | $99,644 | $18,767 |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
California State University-Los Angeles: 19,562 undergraduates; 66% of students receive Pell grants; 91% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
91%
74th percentile among public 4-years
Undergraduates
19,562
87th percentile among public 4-years
Pell share
66%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
96th percentile among public 4-years
Completion
53%
finish within 150% of normal time
65th percentile among public 4-years
First-generation
62%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$22,032
18th percentile among public 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k52%
- $30k–$48k23%
- $48k–$75k15%
- $75k–$110k7%
- Over $110k4%
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 52% |
| $30k–$48k | 23% |
| $48k–$75k | 15% |
| $75k–$110k | 7% |
| Over $110k | 4% |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $3,962 in 2009 to $3,967 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,995 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,742 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,935 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,732 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 50% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,150 |
| 2002 | 53% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,573 |
| 2003 | 58% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,727 |
| 2004 | 56% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,108 |
| 2005 | 45% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,991 |
| 2006 | 62% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,375 |
| 2007 | 61% | not reported | not reported | $48,900 | 15,458 |
| 2008 | 62% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,372 |
| 2009 | 77% | $11,472 | $3,962 | $48,300 | 15,587 |
| 2010 | 67% | $12,899 | $4,255 | not reported | 16,009 |
| 2011 | 57% | $13,161 | $3,742 | $44,900 | 17,307 |
| 2012 | 69% | $14,294 | $4,484 | $43,400 | 18,055 |
| 2013 | 68% | $14,747 | $5,431 | $43,900 | 19,525 |
| 2014 | 61% | $13,479 | $3,287 | $46,100 | 20,643 |
| 2015 | 68% | $13,734 | $3,227 | not reported | 23,424 |
| 2016 | 64% | $13,385 | $3,996 | not reported | 24,046 |
| 2017 | 46% | $13,612 | $3,792 | not reported | 24,780 |
| 2018 | 42% | $14,823 | $4,175 | not reported | 24,163 |
| 2019 | 48% | $14,728 | $2,768 | not reported | 22,743 |
| 2020 | 76% | $15,307 | $3,302 | $59,211 | 22,820 |
| 2021 | 91% | $13,712 | $2,037 | not reported | 23,506 |
| 2022 | 87% | $17,010 | $5,385 | not reported | 22,690 |
| 2023 | 92% | $17,153 | $4,113 | not reported | 21,478 |
| 2024 | 91% | $18,403 | $3,967 | not reported | 19,562 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
- California State University-San Bernardino
- California State University-Dominguez Hills
- California State University-Fresno
- California State University-Bakersfield
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
- California State University-Northridge
- The University of Texas at El Paso
- California State University-Stanislaus
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.