Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Los Angeles, CA

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $35,636 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $39,834.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $83,438 ten years after entering, the 93rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 30% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,100

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $39,834 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $33,075 and $37,834 a year depending on income at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science.

Statement of cost · Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$39,834
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$35,636
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$35,558
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$23,000

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $35,636; $30–48k: $35,686; $48–75k: not reported; $75–110k: $33,075; over $110k: $37,834. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
  • Hollow mark: not reported for that bracket, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$35,636
$30k–$48k$35,686
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110k$33,075
Over $110k$37,834

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $83,438; the median graduate who borrowed owes $18,750.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$60,939
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$74,428
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
93rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$83,438
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
17th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$18,750
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$14,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $60,939; 8 yrs after entry: $74,428; 10 yrs after entry: $83,438. Median graduate debt: $18,750. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $18,750.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$60,939
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$74,428
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$83,438
Median graduate debt$18,750

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree208$144,392not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingGraduate/Professional Certificate37not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralMaster's Degree33not reportednot reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree32$90,781not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree32$97,445$24,750
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsGraduate/Professional Certificate27not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree25not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree18not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree15not reportednot reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree0not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma0not reportednot reported
Show all 15 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MedicineFirst Professional Degree0not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingFirst Professional Degree0not reportednot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsPost-baccalaureate Certificatenot reported$106,698$29,750

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science: 282 undergraduates; 54% of students receive Pell grants; 39% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

39%

12th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

282

24th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

54%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

83rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

30%

finish within 150% of normal time

12th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

48%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$23,200

18th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k29%
  • $30k–$48knot reported
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k29%
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.