Statement · San Diego, CA
Newschool of Architecture and Design
Private for-profit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $47,379 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $62,004.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $68,891 ten years after entering, the 88th percentile among private for-profit 4-years.
62% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Enrollment, 2023
- 327
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $62,004 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $47,379 and $60,356 a year depending on income at Newschool of Architecture and Design.
Statement of cost · Newschool of Architecture and Design
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $62,004
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $47,379
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $52,570
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $30,291
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of private for-profit 4-years (all incomes), $21,630 to $34,047. Dotted line: the median, $28,553.
- Hollow mark: not reported for that bracket, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $47,379 |
| $30k–$48k | not reported |
| $48k–$75k | $60,356 |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $68,891; the median graduate who borrowed owes $31,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $57,073
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $65,312
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
88th percentile among private for-profit 4-years - $68,891
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
85th percentile among private for-profit 4-years - $31,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $23,618
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of private for-profit 4-years at 10 years: $34,657 to $47,785.
- Shaded: middle half of private for-profit 4-years, 10 years out ($34,657 to $47,785); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $31,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $57,073 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $65,312 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $68,891 |
| Median graduate debt | $31,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | Bachelor's Degree | 45 | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | Master's Degree | 23 | not reported | not reported |
| Design and Applied Arts | Bachelor's Degree | 9 | not reported | $39,251 |
| Construction Management | Master's Degree | 9 | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic Communications | Bachelor's Degree | 4 | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Management | Bachelor's Degree | 4 | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | $68,616 | not reported |
| Architecture | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | First Professional Degree | not reported | $75,617 | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | First Professional Degree | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Newschool of Architecture and Design: 182 undergraduates; 52% of students receive Pell grants; 100% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
100%
82nd percentile among private for-profit 4-years
Undergraduates
182
24th percentile among private for-profit 4-years
Pell share
52%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
45th percentile among private for-profit 4-years
Completion
62%
finish within 150% of normal time
70th percentile among private for-profit 4-years
First-generation
38%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$19,871
42nd percentile among private for-profit 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k44%
- $30k–$48knot reported
- $48k–$75knot reported
- $75k–$110knot reported
- Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 44% |
| $30k–$48k | not reported |
| $48k–$75k | not reported |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $29,404 in 2009 to $52,570 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
6 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 108 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 92 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 81 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 8 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 8 |
| 2002 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6 |
| 2003 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 2 |
| 2004 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 155 |
| 2005 | 100% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 175 |
| 2006 | 76% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 236 |
| 2007 | 40% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 307 |
| 2008 | 100% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 322 |
| 2009 | 100% | $32,166 | $29,404 | not reported | 350 |
| 2010 | 100% | $39,905 | $30,343 | not reported | 398 |
| 2011 | 90% | $43,504 | $34,105 | not reported | 400 |
| 2012 | 49% | $41,795 | $34,614 | $43,400 | 389 |
| 2013 | 79% | $43,957 | $35,550 | not reported | 375 |
| 2014 | 98% | $39,498 | $32,936 | $49,400 | 360 |
| 2015 | 97% | $38,845 | $28,409 | not reported | 403 |
| 2016 | 99% | $44,971 | $33,559 | not reported | 411 |
| 2017 | 99% | $41,660 | $34,755 | not reported | 432 |
| 2018 | 100% | $43,082 | $33,580 | not reported | 402 |
| 2019 | 98% | $48,724 | $37,409 | not reported | 394 |
| 2020 | 96% | $50,284 | $37,654 | $68,891 | 359 |
| 2021 | 61% | $55,686 | $48,752 | not reported | 301 |
| 2022 | 45% | $56,958 | $50,126 | not reported | 229 |
| 2023 | 100% | $57,642 | $48,616 | not reported | 212 |
| 2024 | 100% | $62,004 | $52,570 | not reported | 182 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.