Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Chestertown, MD

Washington College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $17,804 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $73,314.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $65,518 ten years after entering, the 79th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 65% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
992

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $73,314 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $17,804 and $33,980 a year depending on income at Washington College.

Statement of cost · Washington College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$73,314
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$17,804
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$27,898
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$55,326

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $17,804; $30–48k: $22,722; $48–75k: $25,068; $75–110k: $26,760; over $110k: $33,980. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$17,804
$30k–$48k$22,722
$48k–$75k$25,068
$75k–$110k$26,760
Over $110k$33,980

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $65,518; the median graduate who borrowed owes $26,956.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,763
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$59,385
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
79th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$65,518
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
81st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$26,956
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$21,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $48,763; 8 yrs after entry: $59,385; 10 yrs after entry: $65,518. Median graduate debt: $26,956. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $26,956.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$48,763
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$59,385
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$65,518
Median graduate debt$26,956

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Washington College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree37not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree31$68,950$27,000
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree30$52,253$26,529
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree27$63,852$27,000
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree14$66,538$24,721
SociologyBachelor's Degree12not reported$27,000
ChemistryBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree9$38,180$26,955
MathematicsBachelor's Degree9not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree8$82,557$27,000
HistoryBachelor's Degree8$54,591not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree7$50,830not reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
AnthropologyBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degreenot reported$83,160$27,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Washington College: 891 undergraduates; 23% of students receive Pell grants; 57% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

57%

25th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

891

47th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

23%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

25th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

65%

finish within 150% of normal time

64th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

16%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$88,295

93rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.