Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Williamstown, MA

Williams College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid −$2,610 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $84,860.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $88,665 ten years after entering, the 95th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 94% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,355

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $84,860 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between −$2,610 and $49,594 a year depending on income at Williams College.

Statement of cost · Williams College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$84,860
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
−$2,610
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$17,716
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$68,560

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: −$2,610; $30–48k: −$1,727; $48–75k: −$1,978; $75–110k: $3,030; over $110k: $49,594. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k−$2,610
$30k–$48k−$1,727
$48k–$75k−$1,978
$75k–$110k$3,030
Over $110k$49,594

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

A negative figure is reported as is: on average, grants and aid exceeded the listed cost.

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $88,665; the median graduate who borrowed owes $12,761.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$71,754
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$79,082
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
95th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$88,665
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$12,761
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$11,667

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $71,754; 8 yrs after entry: $79,082; 10 yrs after entry: $88,665. Median graduate debt: $12,761. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $12,761.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$71,754
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$79,082
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$88,665
Median graduate debt$12,761

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Williams College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
EconomicsBachelor's Degree134$150,862$12,925
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree63$65,053$13,416
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree62$65,491$13,125
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree59not reported$13,454
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree56$163,743$12,208
MathematicsBachelor's Degree55not reported$13,807
HistoryBachelor's Degree55$66,158not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree46$94,412$10,750
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree40$60,801$11,850
ChemistryBachelor's Degree29$68,979$12,000
EconomicsMaster's Degree26not reportednot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree21not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree20not reportednot reported
Area StudiesBachelor's Degree18$88,619not reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree18not reportednot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree18not reportednot reported
PhilosophyBachelor's Degree17not reportednot reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree13not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Williams College: 2,076 undergraduates; 18% of students receive Pell grants; 8% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

8%

2nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

2,076

76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

18%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

16th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

94%

finish within 150% of normal time

96th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

22%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$52,356

63rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.