Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Saint Paul, MN

Hamline University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $15,371 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $58,110.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $61,106 ten years after entering, the 72nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 60% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
3,177

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $58,110 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,371 and $27,196 a year depending on income at Hamline University.

Statement of cost · Hamline University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$58,110
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$15,371
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$20,744
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$50,004

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $15,371; $30–48k: $18,001; $48–75k: $16,767; $75–110k: $21,015; over $110k: $27,196. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$15,371
$30k–$48k$18,001
$48k–$75k$16,767
$75k–$110k$21,015
Over $110k$27,196

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $61,106; the median graduate who borrowed owes $23,770.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$47,139
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$55,414
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
72nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$61,106
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
44th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$23,770
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $47,139; 8 yrs after entry: $55,414; 10 yrs after entry: $61,106. Median graduate debt: $23,770. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $23,770.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$47,139
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$55,414
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$61,106
Median graduate debt$23,770

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Hamline University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Legal Support ServicesGraduate/Professional Certificate60not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasGraduate/Professional Certificate58not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate56not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree54$47,798$24,512
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree53$108,066not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree52$78,696not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree51$68,954not reported
CriminologyBachelor's Degree41not reported$26,500
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesMaster's Degree27$59,527not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree25$74,761$26,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree24not reported$27,000
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree24$56,685$20,500
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MarketingBachelor's Degree24$69,209not reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Human BiologyBachelor's Degree21$57,307$25,500
Non-Professional Legal StudiesBachelor's Degree20$65,092$23,250
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree20$52,010$26,439
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree19not reportednot reported
Special Education and TeachingGraduate/Professional Certificate18not reportednot reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree12$94,053not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Hamline University: 1,776 undergraduates; 41% of students receive Pell grants; 88% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

88%

76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,776

71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

41%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

65th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

60%

finish within 150% of normal time

55th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

23%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$60,017

71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k20%
  • $30k–$48k15%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k20%
$30k–$48k15%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.