Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $24,078 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $82,404.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $102,051 ten years after entering, the 98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 84% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
7,628

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $82,404 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $24,078 and $42,541 a year depending on income at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Statement of cost · Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$82,404
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$24,078
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$36,228
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$64,081

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $24,078; $30–48k: $26,289; $48–75k: $28,212; $75–110k: $36,230; over $110k: $42,541. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$24,078
$30k–$48k$26,289
$48k–$75k$28,212
$75k–$110k$36,230
Over $110k$42,541

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $102,051; the median graduate who borrowed owes $23,750.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$83,054
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$95,369
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$102,051
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
44th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$23,750
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$21,995

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $83,054; 8 yrs after entry: $95,369; 10 yrs after entry: $102,051. Median graduate debt: $23,750. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $23,750.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$83,054
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$95,369
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$102,051
Median graduate debt$23,750

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree250$148,254$23,250
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree162$94,402$25,000
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree117$98,049$25,000
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree100$127,402not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree75$106,266$24,250
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree69$116,079$24,625
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree65$111,812$26,000
Computer Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree62$135,609$23,582
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree61$107,062$25,332
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree58$100,765$26,000
ArchitectureBachelor's Degree56$74,873$31,000
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree53$94,283$26,979
Show all 22 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
PhysicsBachelor's Degree42$111,815$20,270
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree38$162,992not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree35$170,829$27,000
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree34not reported$25,000
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree29$117,724$22,750
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree28$77,153$26,717
Applied MathematicsMaster's Degree28$114,004not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree21$108,034not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree0$132,930not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: 5,714 undergraduates; 20% of students receive Pell grants; 63% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

63%

33rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

5,714

94th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

20%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

20th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

84%

finish within 150% of normal time

90th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

14%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$96,976

96th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k15%
  • $30k–$48knot reported
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k15%
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.