Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Spruce Pine, NC

Mayland Community College

Public2-year · Associate's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $4,571 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $14,932.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $34,663 ten years after entering, the 23rd percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 46% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,114

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $14,932 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $4,571 and $8,841 a year depending on income at Mayland Community College.

Statement of cost · Mayland Community College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$14,932
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$4,571
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$5,861
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$2,626

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $4,571; $30–48k: $7,116; $48–75k: $6,502; $75–110k: $8,841; over $110k: not reported. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
  • Hollow mark: not reported for that bracket, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$4,571
$30k–$48k$7,116
$48k–$75k$6,502
$75k–$110k$8,841
Over $110knot reported

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $34,663; median graduate debt is not reported.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$32,221
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$33,277
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
23rd percentile among public 2-years
$34,663
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
not reported
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
not reported

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $32,221; 8 yrs after entry: $33,277; 10 yrs after entry: $34,663. Median graduate debt: not reported. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$32,221
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$33,277
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$34,663
Median graduate debtnot reported

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Mayland Community College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree36not reportednot reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma25not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma24not reportednot reported
CarpentersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma16not reportednot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma15not reportednot reported
Mason/MasonryUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma11not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree11not reportednot reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma9not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree8$64,406not reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma7not reportednot reported
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, GeneralAssociate's Degree6not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree6$42,962not reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesAssociate's Degree5not reportednot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree5not reportednot reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma5not reportednot reported
Computer Engineering Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree4not reportednot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree4not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree2not reportednot reported
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, OtherAssociate's Degree2not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree2not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Mayland Community College: 362 undergraduates; 25% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

362

9th percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

25%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

30th percentile among public 2-years

Completion

46%

finish within 150% of normal time

72nd percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

52%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$19,437

33rd percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k54%
  • $30k–$48knot reported
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k54%
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.