Statement · Rapid City, SD
Western Dakota Technical College
Public2-year · Associate's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $10,071 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $18,845.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $40,240 ten years after entering, the 62nd percentile among public 2-years.
54% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Enrollment, 2023
- 1,831
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $18,845 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,071 and $18,845 a year depending on income at Western Dakota Technical College.
Statement of cost · Western Dakota Technical College
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $18,845
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $10,071
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $12,670
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $8,294
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $10,071 |
| $30k–$48k | $10,543 |
| $48k–$75k | $14,003 |
| $75k–$110k | $18,657 |
| Over $110k | $18,845 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $40,240; the median graduate who borrowed owes $15,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $36,971
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $37,962
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
62nd percentile among public 2-years - $40,240
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
93rd percentile among public 2-years - $15,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $9,500
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.
- Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $15,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $36,971 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $37,962 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $40,240 |
| Median graduate debt | $15,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 56 | $45,734 | $20,500 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Associate's Degree | 31 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | 27 | $57,387 | $15,125 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 24 | $31,763 | $11,000 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate's Degree | 23 | $46,336 | $12,000 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | Associate's Degree | 21 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 20 | $40,835 | $9,125 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate's Degree | 18 | $63,185 | $18,081 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | Associate's Degree | 17 | $49,288 | $17,999 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 17 | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Associate's Degree | 13 | not reported | $24,994 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Associate's Degree | 13 | $41,947 | not reported |
Show all 21 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | Associate's Degree | 12 | not reported | $20,049 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Associate's Degree | 12 | $43,025 | $22,017 |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 11 | not reported | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 10 | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate's Degree | 10 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | 10 | $35,826 | $11,375 |
| Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | 9 | not reported | not reported |
| Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | 9 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate's Degree | 7 | not reported | $12,548 |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Western Dakota Technical College: 753 undergraduates; 33% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).
Admission rate
No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)
Undergraduates
753
20th percentile among public 2-years
Pell share
33%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
61st percentile among public 2-years
Completion
54%
finish within 150% of normal time
84th percentile among public 2-years
First-generation
38%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$25,793
70th percentile among public 2-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k34%
- $30k–$48k20%
- $48k–$75k19%
- $75k–$110knot reported
- Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 34% |
| $30k–$48k | 20% |
| $48k–$75k | 19% |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $9,696 in 2009 to $12,670 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 872 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 825 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 857 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 844 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 72% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 819 |
| 2002 | 71% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 789 |
| 2003 | 74% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 877 |
| 2004 | 67% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 853 |
| 2005 | 64% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 1,005 |
| 2006 | 97% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 928 |
| 2007 | 99% | not reported | not reported | $29,700 | 920 |
| 2008 | 97% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 899 |
| 2009 | 60% | $13,459 | $9,696 | $30,500 | 1,110 |
| 2010 | not reported | $13,879 | $9,810 | not reported | 1,176 |
| 2011 | not reported | $16,129 | $12,526 | $31,000 | 982 |
| 2012 | not reported | $16,594 | $12,801 | $31,700 | 939 |
| 2013 | not reported | $14,726 | $11,309 | $32,400 | 1,004 |
| 2014 | not reported | $15,105 | $11,399 | $33,800 | 809 |
| 2015 | not reported | $16,779 | $13,504 | not reported | 798 |
| 2016 | not reported | $17,840 | $12,531 | not reported | 827 |
| 2017 | not reported | $17,613 | $14,016 | not reported | 831 |
| 2018 | not reported | $20,133 | $15,987 | not reported | 767 |
| 2019 | not reported | $19,028 | $14,388 | not reported | 858 |
| 2020 | not reported | $19,915 | $15,434 | $40,240 | 870 |
| 2021 | not reported | $20,417 | $14,788 | not reported | 826 |
| 2022 | not reported | $18,855 | $14,341 | not reported | 757 |
| 2023 | not reported | $20,885 | $14,631 | not reported | 733 |
| 2024 | not reported | $18,845 | $12,670 | not reported | 753 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.