Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Richmond, VA

J Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Public2-year · Certificate degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $3,865 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $12,428.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $39,529 ten years after entering, the 58th percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 32% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
10,717

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $12,428 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $3,865 and $12,016 a year depending on income at J Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Statement of cost · J Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$12,428
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$3,865
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$5,168
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,280

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $3,865; $30–48k: $4,649; $48–75k: $5,377; $75–110k: $9,249; over $110k: $12,016. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$3,865
$30k–$48k$4,649
$48k–$75k$5,377
$75k–$110k$9,249
Over $110k$12,016

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $39,529; the median graduate who borrowed owes $10,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$32,102
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$35,686
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
58th percentile among public 2-years
$39,529
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
53rd percentile among public 2-years
$10,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$8,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $32,102; 8 yrs after entry: $35,686; 10 yrs after entry: $39,529. Median graduate debt: $10,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $10,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$32,102
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$35,686
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$39,529
Median graduate debt$10,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree298$39,391$12,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree193$49,865$10,500
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma148$28,939not reported
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree139$42,732$10,948
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree106$33,700$7,249
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma67$39,908$11,000
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma55not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree55$75,781$20,502
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree47$68,850not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma47not reported$11,250
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma39$42,112not reported
Legal Support ServicesAssociate's Degree33not reported$20,250
Show all 22 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma32$43,409$25,838
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma29not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma27not reportednot reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree26$29,770not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree26$69,934$20,435
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma25not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma23not reportednot reported
Engineering, GeneralAssociate's Degree22$74,135$10,500
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma0not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree10$45,398not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

J Sargeant Reynolds Community College: 5,586 undergraduates; 32% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

5,586

79th percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

32%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

56th percentile among public 2-years

Completion

32%

finish within 150% of normal time

32nd percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

45%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$19,569

34th percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k50%
  • $30k–$48k23%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k7%
  • Over $110k6%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k50%
$30k–$48k23%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k7%
Over $110k6%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.