Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Chester, VA

Brightpoint Community College

Public2-year · Certificate degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $4,150 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $12,196.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $41,223 ten years after entering, the 68th percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 38% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
11,787

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $12,196 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $4,150 and $11,669 a year depending on income at Brightpoint Community College.

Statement of cost · Brightpoint Community College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$12,196
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$4,150
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$5,490
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,082

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $4,150; $30–48k: $4,803; $48–75k: $6,376; $75–110k: $8,764; over $110k: $11,669. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$4,150
$30k–$48k$4,803
$48k–$75k$6,376
$75k–$110k$8,764
Over $110k$11,669

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $41,223; the median graduate who borrowed owes $9,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$35,568
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$37,040
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
68th percentile among public 2-years
$41,223
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
37th percentile among public 2-years
$9,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$5,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $35,568; 8 yrs after entry: $37,040; 10 yrs after entry: $41,223. Median graduate debt: $9,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $9,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$35,568
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$37,040
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$41,223
Median graduate debt$9,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Brightpoint Community College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma190$43,480$8,750
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree138$43,192$9,359
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma122not reported$9,000
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree115not reported$11,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree91$48,299$9,250
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree89$75,019$20,069
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma51not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree48not reportednot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, OtherAssociate's Degree45not reported$5,000
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma42not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceAssociate's Degree41not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree39not reported$8,250
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree38not reportednot reported
Funeral Service and Mortuary ScienceAssociate's Degree36$55,507not reported
Engineering, GeneralAssociate's Degree34not reportednot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma27not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsAssociate's Degree26not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma26not reportednot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, OtherUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma25not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma22not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma0$42,509$13,850
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification)not reportednot reportednot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree13not reportednot reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma11not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Brightpoint Community College: 5,792 undergraduates; 23% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

5,792

81st percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

23%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

23rd percentile among public 2-years

Completion

38%

finish within 150% of normal time

53rd percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

42%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$25,355

68th percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k43%
  • $30k–$48k23%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k10%
  • Over $110k8%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k43%
$30k–$48k23%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k10%
Over $110k8%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.