Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · San Jose, CA

San Jose City College

Public2-year · Associate's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $16,430 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $26,081.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $46,215 ten years after entering, the 90th percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 34% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
11,959

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $26,081 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,652 and $22,207 a year depending on income at San Jose City College.

Statement of cost · San Jose City College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$26,081
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$16,430
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$16,959
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$1,366

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $16,430; $30–48k: $15,652; $48–75k: $18,524; $75–110k: $22,207; over $110k: $20,198. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$16,430
$30k–$48k$15,652
$48k–$75k$18,524
$75k–$110k$22,207
Over $110k$20,198

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $46,215; median graduate debt is not reported.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$39,993
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$42,651
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
90th percentile among public 2-years
$46,215
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
not reported
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$5,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $39,993; 8 yrs after entry: $42,651; 10 yrs after entry: $46,215. Median graduate debt: not reported. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$39,993
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$42,651
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$46,215
Median graduate debtnot reported

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at San Jose City College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma197not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree189$46,398not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma102not reportednot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree65not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree61not reportednot reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma58not reportednot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma58not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree47not reportednot reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and InspectionUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma47not reportednot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree41not reportednot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma32not reportednot reported
SociologyAssociate's Degree28not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Environmental Control Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma27not reportednot reported
Computer ProgrammingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma24not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma22not reportednot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesAssociate's Degree21not reportednot reported
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma16not reportednot reported
Special Education and TeachingAssociate's Degree16not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree15not reportednot reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and InspectionAssociate's Degree15not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

San Jose City College: 7,105 undergraduates; 21% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

7,105

85th percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

21%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

18th percentile among public 2-years

Completion

34%

finish within 150% of normal time

39th percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

58%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$15,562

11th percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k63%
  • $30k–$48k21%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k63%
$30k–$48k21%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.