Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Fort Valley, GA

Fort Valley State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $9,017 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $19,879.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $36,666 ten years after entering, the 7th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 41% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,875

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $19,879 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $9,017 and $16,914 a year depending on income at Fort Valley State University.

Statement of cost · Fort Valley State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$19,879
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$9,017
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$10,338
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,526

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $9,017; $30–48k: $9,021; $48–75k: $11,502; $75–110k: $15,571; over $110k: $16,914. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$9,017
$30k–$48k$9,021
$48k–$75k$11,502
$75k–$110k$15,571
Over $110k$16,914

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $36,666; the median graduate who borrowed owes $31,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$28,649
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$32,953
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
7th percentile among public 4-years
$36,666
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
above the 99th percentile among public 4-years
$31,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$19,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $28,649; 8 yrs after entry: $32,953; 10 yrs after entry: $36,666. Median graduate debt: $31,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $31,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$28,649
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$32,953
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$36,666
Median graduate debt$31,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Fort Valley State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree44$53,865$31,937
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree32$37,565$37,600
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree29$45,337$27,000
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree26$39,776$34,625
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree24$46,238not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree20$48,104$37,875
Public HealthMaster's Degree19$57,067not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree18not reported$39,693
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree17$63,713not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesGraduate/Professional Certificate16not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree15$65,087$41,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree15$47,929not reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Animal SciencesBachelor's Degree13not reportednot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree12not reportednot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree10$48,944not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree9not reported$31,250
MathematicsBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree7not reported$34,000
ChemistryBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree6not reported$44,653

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Fort Valley State University: 2,684 undergraduates; 73% of students receive Pell grants; 66% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

66%

23rd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

2,684

32nd percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

73%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

98th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

41%

finish within 150% of normal time

41st percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

34%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$22,382

20th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k57%
  • $30k–$48k19%
  • $48k–$75k12%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k57%
$30k–$48k19%
$48k–$75k12%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.