Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Hays, KS

Fort Hays State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $7,661 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $19,909.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $48,928 ten years after entering, the 46th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 48% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
16,968

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $19,909 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $7,661 and $16,641 a year depending on income at Fort Hays State University.

Statement of cost · Fort Hays State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$19,909
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$7,661
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,569
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,923

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $7,661; $30–48k: $9,776; $48–75k: $11,941; $75–110k: $14,266; over $110k: $16,641. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$7,661
$30k–$48k$9,776
$48k–$75k$11,941
$75k–$110k$14,266
Over $110k$16,641

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $48,928; the median graduate who borrowed owes $21,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$44,428
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$46,876
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
46th percentile among public 4-years
$48,928
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
63rd percentile among public 4-years
$21,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$14,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $44,428; 8 yrs after entry: $46,876; 10 yrs after entry: $48,928. Median graduate debt: $21,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $21,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$44,428
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$46,876
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$48,928
Median graduate debt$21,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Fort Hays State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree409$52,869$19,520
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree381$63,192$27,000
EconomicsBachelor's Degree230not reportednot reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree192$55,566not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree143$46,374$30,800
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree141$51,328$26,573
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree131$84,609$24,726
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree98$45,217$29,000
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree96$55,408not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree94$53,261$23,082
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherBachelor's Degree83not reportednot reported
Computer ProgrammingBachelor's Degree82not reported$28,000
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherMaster's Degree73$82,849not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree72$80,084not reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree67not reported$24,119
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree64$56,666not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree52$47,433$30,950
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree50$71,322$26,427
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree48$77,920not reported
Educational/Instructional Media DesignMaster's Degree48$64,758not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree13not reported$30,468
Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree24not reportednot reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesMaster's Degree23$68,651not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Fort Hays State University: 9,733 undergraduates; 23% of students receive Pell grants; 90% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

90%

70th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

9,733

71st percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

23%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

24th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

48%

finish within 150% of normal time

53rd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

39%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$42,454

65th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k22%
  • $30k–$48k16%
  • $48k–$75k22%
  • $75k–$110k23%
  • Over $110k17%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k22%
$30k–$48k16%
$48k–$75k22%
$75k–$110k23%
Over $110k17%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.