Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Natchitoches, LA

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $11,693 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $25,431.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $47,021 ten years after entering, the 40th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 43% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
11,332

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $25,431 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $11,693 and $19,077 a year depending on income at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

Statement of cost · Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$25,431
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$11,693
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$13,606
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,864

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $11,693; $30–48k: $12,261; $48–75k: $12,549; $75–110k: $17,777; over $110k: $19,077. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$11,693
$30k–$48k$12,261
$48k–$75k$12,549
$75k–$110k$17,777
Over $110k$19,077

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $47,021; the median graduate who borrowed owes $25,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$39,485
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$43,941
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
40th percentile among public 4-years
$47,021
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
91st percentile among public 4-years
$25,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $39,485; 8 yrs after entry: $43,941; 10 yrs after entry: $47,021. Median graduate debt: $25,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $25,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$39,485
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$43,941
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$47,021
Median graduate debt$25,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Northwestern State University of Louisiana
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree293$82,918$25,638
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree245$45,068$23,735
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree144$47,139$31,000
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree113$46,485$26,959
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree100$47,666$26,821
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree98$74,729$31,250
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree91$49,944$28,750
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree70$109,076not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree64$56,512$26,797
Social WorkBachelor's Degree53$44,157$28,875
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree50$51,088not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree50not reported$31,000
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree46$47,007$31,000
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree38$43,280$29,371
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree34$83,443$29,000
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree28$34,523$21,750
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree28$49,518$24,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree25$45,968$23,662
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree25$33,722$22,250
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree23$41,200$20,500
Homeland SecurityMaster's Degree9not reportednot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree9$75,283$25,625
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree12not reported$42,605
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree8$62,601not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Northwestern State University of Louisiana: 5,519 undergraduates; 35% of students receive Pell grants; 93% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

93%

77th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

5,519

54th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

35%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

61st percentile among public 4-years

Completion

43%

finish within 150% of normal time

45th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

42%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$30,223

41st percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k41%
  • $30k–$48k18%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k14%
  • Over $110k13%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k41%
$30k–$48k18%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k14%
Over $110k13%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.