Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Brooklyn Park, MN

Hennepin Technical College

Public2-year · Certificate degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $7,924 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $16,032.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $49,460 ten years after entering, the 95th percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 42% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
5,992

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $16,032 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $7,924 and $15,484 a year depending on income at Hennepin Technical College.

Statement of cost · Hennepin Technical College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$16,032
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$7,924
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$10,272
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,940

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $7,924; $30–48k: $8,495; $48–75k: $9,629; $75–110k: $12,069; over $110k: $15,484. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$7,924
$30k–$48k$8,495
$48k–$75k$9,629
$75k–$110k$12,069
Over $110k$15,484

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $49,460; the median graduate who borrowed owes $11,433.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$46,905
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,862
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
95th percentile among public 2-years
$49,460
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
70th percentile among public 2-years
$11,433
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$9,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $46,905; 8 yrs after entry: $48,862; 10 yrs after entry: $49,460. Median graduate debt: $11,433. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $11,433.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$46,905
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$48,862
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$49,460
Median graduate debt$11,433

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Hennepin Technical College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma153$70,999$19,854
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma132$49,002$11,129
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma112$65,406not reported
Engineering-Related Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma111not reportednot reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma98$59,492$9,329
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma63$58,267$8,250
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementAssociate's Degree62$66,823$20,998
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma55not reportednot reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree52$60,481$12,000
CarpentersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma48not reportednot reported
Plumbing and Related Water Supply ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma43not reportednot reported
WoodworkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma41not reportednot reported
Show all 23 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma40$43,566not reported
Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma35not reportednot reported
Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree35$84,229$16,465
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree29$56,219$20,250
Engineering-Related Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree28$64,342not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Associate's Degree27$78,403$20,000
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree26$44,397not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma21$67,462not reported
Precision Metal WorkingAssociate's Degree18$75,477not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree18not reportednot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree12$56,616$16,246

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Hennepin Technical College: 3,157 undergraduates; 29% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

3,157

63rd percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

29%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

45th percentile among public 2-years

Completion

42%

finish within 150% of normal time

62nd percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

38%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$26,337

73rd percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k36%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k17%
  • Over $110k13%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k36%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k17%
Over $110k13%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.