Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Marshall, MN

Southwest Minnesota State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,559 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $24,757.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $51,342 ten years after entering, the 53rd percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 45% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
8,521

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $24,757 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,559 and $20,701 a year depending on income at Southwest Minnesota State University.

Statement of cost · Southwest Minnesota State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$24,757
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,559
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,291
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$10,361

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,559; $30–48k: $11,175; $48–75k: $13,153; $75–110k: $18,283; over $110k: $20,701. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,559
$30k–$48k$11,175
$48k–$75k$13,153
$75k–$110k$18,283
Over $110k$20,701

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $51,342; the median graduate who borrowed owes $20,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$43,282
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,039
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
53rd percentile among public 4-years
$51,342
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
59th percentile among public 4-years
$20,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$14,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $43,282; 8 yrs after entry: $48,039; 10 yrs after entry: $51,342. Median graduate debt: $20,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $20,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$43,282
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$48,039
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$51,342
Median graduate debt$20,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Southwest Minnesota State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree99$59,053not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree70$84,871$33,560
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree42$47,061$27,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree41$82,960not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree38$49,713$26,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree38$62,733$25,000
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate25not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree24not reported$29,000
Special Education and TeachingBachelor's Degree21not reported$30,542
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree20not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree16$68,179not reported
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree15not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social WorkBachelor's Degree15$47,740not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree14$50,996$26,500
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree14$53,479$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree13$65,273not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree13not reported$26,250
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree11$62,403$22,900
MarketingBachelor's Degree11$54,828$23,425

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Southwest Minnesota State University: 2,315 undergraduates; 12% of students receive Pell grants; 62% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

62%

19th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

2,315

28th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

12%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

3rd percentile among public 4-years

Completion

45%

finish within 150% of normal time

49th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

27%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$51,572

77th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k23%
  • $30k–$48k13%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k23%
$30k–$48k13%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.