Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · New York, NY

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $1,073 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $14,212.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $56,195 ten years after entering, the 66th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 56% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
17,296

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $14,212 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $1,073 and $13,292 a year depending on income at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

Statement of cost · CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$14,212
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$1,073
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$3,203
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$7,470

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $1,073; $30–48k: $2,506; $48–75k: $6,760; $75–110k: $8,427; over $110k: $13,292. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$1,073
$30k–$48k$2,506
$48k–$75k$6,760
$75k–$110k$8,427
Over $110k$13,292

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $56,195; the median graduate who borrowed owes $11,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$50,293
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$56,676
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
66th percentile among public 4-years
$56,195
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
16th percentile among public 4-years
$11,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$9,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $50,293; 8 yrs after entry: $56,676; 10 yrs after entry: $56,195. Median graduate debt: $11,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $11,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$50,293
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$56,676
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$56,195
Median graduate debt$11,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree1,454$62,064$10,500
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyBachelor's Degree537$55,307$13,421
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsMaster's Degree213$76,638not reported
CriminologyBachelor's Degree204$56,457$11,000
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree202$73,192$13,875
Non-Professional Legal StudiesBachelor's Degree150$58,557$9,500
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree145$84,229not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree123$68,849not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree120$59,730$14,820
Security Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree118$65,413$14,475
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsGraduate/Professional Certificate108not reportednot reported
Human Services, GeneralBachelor's Degree104not reportednot reported
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree87$62,124not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesMaster's Degree49not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree48$63,500$11,750
Dispute ResolutionUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma47$59,649not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyGraduate/Professional Certificate45not reportednot reported
Security Science and TechnologyMaster's Degree42not reportednot reported
Public AdministrationBachelor's Degree38$57,522$13,895
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree36$53,181$9,848
PhilosophyBachelor's Degree12$51,730not reported
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesBachelor's Degree27not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsPost-baccalaureate Certificatenot reportednot reportednot reported
Fire ProtectionBachelor's Degree33$62,910$16,500

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice: 11,590 undergraduates; 60% of students receive Pell grants; 57% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

57%

14th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

11,590

76th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

60%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

94th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

56%

finish within 150% of normal time

72nd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

48%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$19,475

10th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k60%
  • $30k–$48k20%
  • $48k–$75k11%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k60%
$30k–$48k20%
$48k–$75k11%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.