Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Rochester, NY

Rochester Institute of Technology

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $24,680 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $74,626.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $76,571 ten years after entering, the 89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 70% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
19,736

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $74,626 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $24,680 and $44,970 a year depending on income at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Statement of cost · Rochester Institute of Technology

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$74,626
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$24,680
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$34,906
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$59,274

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $24,680; $30–48k: $24,820; $48–75k: $28,874; $75–110k: $34,510; over $110k: $44,970. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$24,680
$30k–$48k$24,820
$48k–$75k$28,874
$75k–$110k$34,510
Over $110k$44,970

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $76,571; the median graduate who borrowed owes $26,778.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$65,457
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$70,978
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$76,571
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
79th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$26,778
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$20,872

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $65,457; 8 yrs after entry: $70,978; 10 yrs after entry: $76,571. Median graduate debt: $26,778. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $26,778.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$65,457
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$70,978
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$76,571
Median graduate debt$26,778

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Rochester Institute of Technology
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree195$136,522$27,000
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree186$122,991$28,500
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree173$91,471$27,000
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsBachelor's Degree154$99,801$27,000
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree149$55,746$27,000
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree116$51,613$27,000
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree115not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree109$45,964$28,000
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree92$89,798$29,000
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree89$136,339$27,000
Electrical and Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree89not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree82$171,690not reported
Show all 25 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree76$101,671not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree63$101,985$27,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree58$63,011$24,000
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree56$98,398$25,105
Civil Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree55$77,998$28,000
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree54$93,911$27,000
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree51not reportednot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree50$103,407$29,183
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree36$131,823not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree1not reportednot reported
Computer ProgrammingBachelor's Degree28not reported$27,000
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree43$105,893$30,750
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degreenot reported$95,812$29,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Rochester Institute of Technology: 13,215 undergraduates; 27% of students receive Pell grants; 67% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

67%

37th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

13,215

99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

27%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

35th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

70%

finish within 150% of normal time

73rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

19%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$69,191

81st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k21%
  • $30k–$48k13%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k21%
$30k–$48k13%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.