Statement · Durham, NC
Duke University
Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $735 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $87,072.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $97,800 ten years after entering, the 97th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.
97% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1838
- Enrollment, 2023
- 20,664
- Website
- duke.edu
- Motto
- “Eruditio et Religio”

Unknown author · Public domain
AboutPrivate university in Durham, North Carolina, U.S.. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
Duke University is a private research university in Durham, North Carolina, United States. Founded by Methodists and Quakers in the present-day city of Trinity in 1838, the school moved to Durham in 1892. In 1924, tobacco and electric power industrialist James Buchanan Duke established the Duke Endowment and the institution changed its name to honor his deceased father, Washington Duke.
From the Wikipedia article “Duke University”, revision 1363878631, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $87,072 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between −$361 and $54,230 a year depending on income at Duke University.
Statement of cost · Duke University
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $87,072
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $735
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $29,612
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $68,758
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $735 |
| $30k–$48k | −$361 |
| $48k–$75k | $5,706 |
| $75k–$110k | $17,100 |
| Over $110k | $54,230 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
A negative figure is reported as is: on average, grants and aid exceeded the listed cost.
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $97,800; the median graduate who borrowed owes $13,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $85,792
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $95,882
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
97th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $97,800
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $13,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $12,000
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.
- Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $13,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $85,792 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $95,882 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $97,800 |
| Median graduate debt | $13,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Master's Degree | 999 | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 410 | $201,846 | $13,500 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Bachelor's Degree | 281 | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | Master's Degree | 266 | $150,672 | not reported |
| Law | First Professional Degree | 238 | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 229 | $217,198 | not reported |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | 224 | $82,377 | $29,000 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Master's Degree | 208 | $119,197 | not reported |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 199 | $171,986 | $13,437 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Master's Degree | 188 | $91,491 | not reported |
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 169 | $70,605 | $12,500 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Bachelor's Degree | 144 | $113,034 | $10,500 |
Show all 27 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public Policy Analysis | Master's Degree | 143 | $109,232 | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Master's Degree | 142 | not reported | not reported |
| Theological and Ministerial Studies | Master's Degree | 136 | $63,947 | not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | 133 | not reported | $12,125 |
| Medicine | First Professional Degree | 117 | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 111 | $101,627 | $14,016 |
| Computer Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 110 | $174,619 | $14,500 |
| Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies | Master's Degree | 107 | $193,055 | not reported |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | Master's Degree | 29 | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 83 | $131,658 | $13,000 |
| Law | Doctoral Degree | 0 | $263,874 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | 19 | $222,658 | not reported |
| International Business | Master's Degree | 70 | $346,263 | not reported |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Master's Degree | 36 | not reported | not reported |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Doctoral Degree | 9 | $149,527 | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Duke University: 6,442 undergraduates; 14% of students receive Pell grants; 6% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
6%
1st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Undergraduates
6,442
94th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Pell share
14%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
9th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Completion
97%
finish within 150% of normal time
98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
First-generation
13%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$61,560
72nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k18%
- $30k–$48k11%
- $48k–$75k15%
- $75k–$110knot reported
- Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 18% |
| $30k–$48k | 11% |
| $48k–$75k | 15% |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $27,247 in 2009 to $29,612 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,208 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,245 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,235 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,232 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,066 |
| 2002 | 26% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,053 |
| 2003 | 23% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,086 |
| 2004 | 21% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,107 |
| 2005 | 22% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,259 |
| 2006 | 24% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,214 |
| 2007 | 23% | not reported | not reported | $73,000 | 6,260 |
| 2008 | 23% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,352 |
| 2009 | 22% | $50,974 | $27,247 | $73,600 | 6,416 |
| 2010 | 19% | $53,035 | $23,085 | not reported | 6,545 |
| 2011 | 16% | $55,150 | $26,164 | $76,700 | 6,534 |
| 2012 | 14% | $57,325 | $26,562 | $76,700 | 6,493 |
| 2013 | 13% | $59,528 | $28,058 | $77,900 | 6,501 |
| 2014 | 11% | $61,748 | $25,369 | $84,400 | 6,480 |
| 2015 | 11% | $63,999 | $34,137 | not reported | 6,501 |
| 2016 | 11% | $67,005 | $33,665 | not reported | 6,467 |
| 2017 | 10% | $69,847 | $36,415 | not reported | 6,552 |
| 2018 | 9% | $72,466 | $23,442 | not reported | 6,596 |
| 2019 | 8% | $75,105 | $27,020 | not reported | 6,546 |
| 2020 | 8% | $77,846 | $32,459 | $97,800 | 6,650 |
| 2021 | 6% | $78,176 | $31,416 | not reported | 6,815 |
| 2022 | 6% | $81,138 | $30,785 | not reported | 6,570 |
| 2023 | 7% | $82,749 | $34,454 | not reported | 6,417 |
| 2024 | 6% | $87,072 | $29,612 | not reported | 6,442 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 5,852 people who studied at Duke University, most often in science & academia (57%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 3,171 | 57.0% |
| medicine | 123 | 2.2% |
| law | 237 | 4.3% |
| politics & gov | 254 | 4.6% |
| business | 189 | 3.4% |
| engineering & tech | 126 | 2.3% |
| writing & journalism | 323 | 5.8% |
| film & stage | 103 | 1.8% |
| music | 58 | 1.0% |
| visual arts | 51 | 0.9% |
| sports | 792 | 14.2% |
| religion | 67 | 1.2% |
| military | 68 | 1.2% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsresearcher (2,138) · university teacher (524) · basketball player (489) · politician (211) · lawyer (205) · writer (161) · historian (108) · American football player (102)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1820s | not reported | 3 | not reported |
| 1840s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1850s | not reported | 6 | not reported |
| 1860s | not reported | 6 | not reported |
| 1870s | not reported | 8 | not reported |
| 1880s | 1 | 6 | 14% |
| 1890s | 4 | 13 | 24% |
| 1900s | 10 | 65 | 13% |
| 1910s | 13 | 99 | 12% |
| 1920s | 17 | 143 | 11% |
| 1930s | 22 | 186 | 11% |
| 1940s | 57 | 226 | 20% |
| 1950s | 77 | 256 | 23% |
| 1960s | 85 | 233 | 27% |
| 1970s | 104 | 206 | 34% |
| 1980s | 67 | 132 | 34% |
| 1990s | 56 | 94 | 37% |
| 2000s | 40 | 67 | 37% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 35,008 |
| 2026-05 | 41,689 |
| 2026-04 | 47,989 |
| 2026-03 | 76,213 |
| 2026-02 | 40,866 |
| 2026-01 | 47,888 |
| 2025-12 | 47,128 |
| 2025-11 | 42,297 |
| 2025-10 | 43,890 |
| 2025-09 | 43,017 |
| 2025-08 | 40,001 |
| 2025-07 | 36,675 |
| 2025-06 | 45,266 |
| 2025-05 | 49,381 |
| 2025-04 | 86,691 |
| 2025-03 | 107,654 |
| 2025-02 | 53,917 |
| 2025-01 | 57,391 |
| 2024-12 | 51,490 |
| 2024-11 | 54,350 |
| 2024-10 | 50,325 |
| 2024-09 | 50,745 |
| 2024-08 | 48,617 |
| 2024-07 | 47,560 |
| 2024-06 | 43,239 |
| 2024-05 | 58,884 |
| 2024-04 | 60,416 |
| 2024-03 | 94,967 |
| 2024-02 | 52,195 |
| 2024-01 | 62,165 |
| 2023-12 | 55,696 |
| 2023-11 | 55,062 |
| 2023-10 | 64,261 |
| 2023-09 | 71,539 |
| 2023-08 | 53,686 |
| 2023-07 | 50,251 |
| 2023-06 | 51,047 |
| 2023-05 | 55,354 |
| 2023-04 | 55,610 |
| 2023-03 | 72,457 |
| 2023-02 | 51,281 |
| 2023-01 | 54,510 |
| 2022-12 | 51,593 |
| 2022-11 | 53,355 |
| 2022-10 | 53,736 |
| 2022-09 | 52,131 |
| 2022-08 | 53,398 |
| 2022-07 | 58,633 |
| 2022-06 | 54,326 |
| 2022-05 | 51,149 |
| 2022-04 | 113,261 |
| 2022-03 | 145,268 |
| 2022-02 | 56,718 |
| 2022-01 | 58,843 |
| 2021-12 | 52,219 |
| 2021-11 | 53,592 |
| 2021-10 | 51,314 |
| 2021-09 | 54,949 |
| 2021-08 | 55,991 |
| 2021-07 | 53,817 |
| 2021-06 | 46,021 |
| 2021-05 | 56,797 |
| 2021-04 | 57,429 |
| 2021-03 | 65,241 |
| 2021-02 | 48,256 |
| 2021-01 | 53,573 |
| 2020-12 | 57,348 |
| 2020-11 | 54,852 |
| 2020-10 | 55,785 |
| 2020-09 | 50,501 |
| 2020-08 | 55,117 |
| 2020-07 | 47,639 |
| 2020-06 | 49,148 |
| 2020-05 | 65,348 |
| 2020-04 | 70,011 |
| 2020-03 | 66,695 |
| 2020-02 | 67,486 |
| 2020-01 | 69,441 |
| 2019-12 | 70,815 |
| 2019-11 | 74,210 |
| 2019-10 | 66,294 |
| 2019-09 | 68,136 |
| 2019-08 | 65,367 |
| 2019-07 | 58,271 |
| 2019-06 | 66,360 |
| 2019-05 | 69,168 |
| 2019-04 | 79,834 |
| 2019-03 | 152,759 |
| 2019-02 | 91,573 |
| 2019-01 | 79,006 |
| 2018-12 | 93,123 |
| 2018-11 | 79,749 |
| 2018-10 | 62,197 |
| 2018-09 | 70,261 |
| 2018-08 | 65,176 |
| 2018-07 | 54,342 |
| 2018-06 | 56,035 |
| 2018-05 | 61,245 |
| 2018-04 | 64,210 |
| 2018-03 | 114,543 |
| 2018-02 | 56,062 |
| 2018-01 | 62,627 |
| 2017-12 | 55,995 |
| 2017-11 | 60,327 |
| 2017-10 | 55,666 |
| 2017-09 | 53,122 |
| 2017-08 | 58,806 |
| 2017-07 | 48,394 |
| 2017-06 | 48,710 |
| 2017-05 | 54,691 |
| 2017-04 | 62,831 |
| 2017-03 | 99,387 |
| 2017-02 | 69,048 |
| 2017-01 | 63,988 |
| 2016-12 | 60,342 |
| 2016-11 | 59,990 |
| 2016-10 | 54,527 |
| 2016-09 | 56,665 |
| 2016-08 | 50,701 |
| 2016-07 | 46,450 |
| 2016-06 | 48,811 |
| 2016-05 | 58,380 |
| 2016-04 | 66,200 |
| 2016-03 | 93,442 |
| 2016-02 | 57,246 |
| 2016-01 | 59,120 |
| 2015-12 | 57,283 |
| 2015-11 | 55,100 |
| 2015-10 | 60,408 |
| 2015-09 | 54,990 |
| 2015-08 | 54,077 |
| 2015-07 | 50,053 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- Charles Hard Townes Physics 1964
- Robert Coleman Richardson Physics 1996
- Robert Lefkowitz Chemistry 2012
- Brian Kobilka Chemistry 2012
- Gregg L. Semenza Medicine 2019
- William G. Kaelin Medicine 2019
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- Ron Paul
United States Congress · Public domain
- Charles Hard Townes
Unknown author · Public domain
- Robert Coleman Richardson
Silin2005 · Public domain
Show all 15 portraits
- Rand Paul
US Senate Photography Office · Public domain
- William Styron
Gotfryd, Bernard, photographer · Public domain
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1363878631), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.
