Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Cambridge, MA

Harvard University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $8,697 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $85,540.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $101,817 ten years after entering, the 98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 98% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1636
Enrollment, 2023
37,613
Motto
“Veritas”
Campus of Harvard University

chensiyuan · CC BY-SA 4.0

AboutPrivate university in Cambridge, Massachusetts, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

Harvard University is a private Ivy League research university in Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States. Founded in 1636, and named Harvard College in 1639 in honor of its first benefactor, Puritan clergyman John Harvard, it is the oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Its influence, wealth, and rankings have made it one of the most prestigious universities in the world.

From the Wikipedia article “Harvard University”, revision 1363304232, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $85,540 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $2,091 and $53,337 a year depending on income at Harvard University.

Statement of cost · Harvard University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$85,540
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$8,697
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$19,066
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$61,676

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $8,697; $30–48k: $2,991; $48–75k: $2,091; $75–110k: $9,941; over $110k: $53,337. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$8,697
$30k–$48k$2,991
$48k–$75k$2,091
$75k–$110k$9,941
Over $110k$53,337

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $101,817; the median graduate who borrowed owes $14,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$99,572
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$101,095
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$101,817
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
8th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$14,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $99,572; 8 yrs after entry: $101,095; 10 yrs after entry: $101,817. Median graduate debt: $14,000. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $14,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$99,572
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$101,095
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$101,817
Median graduate debt$14,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Harvard University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree877$119,724not reported
LawFirst Professional Degree570$250,647not reported
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchMaster's Degree505not reportednot reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree400$204,275not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree393not reportednot reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree374$140,456not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree258$161,251$6,617
Public Policy AnalysisMaster's Degree232$134,992not reported
Sustainability StudiesMaster's Degree192not reportednot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree189$76,293$19,937
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree183$219,550not reported
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree179not reportednot reported
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MedicineFirst Professional Degree167$139,818not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree164$117,484not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree161$94,015$12,721
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchMaster's Degree149not reportednot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesMaster's Degree147$68,181not reported
Sustainability StudiesGraduate/Professional Certificate146not reportednot reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree141not reportednot reported
Educational/Instructional Media DesignMaster's Degree140$95,957not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsFirst Professional Degreenot reported$283,798not reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree52$229,811not reported
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree94not reportednot reported
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesGraduate/Professional Certificate18$281,043not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree62not reportednot reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyDoctoral Degree52$147,362not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Harvard University: 7,601 undergraduates; 16% of students receive Pell grants; 4% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

4%

below the 1st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

7,601

97th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

16%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

14th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

98%

finish within 150% of normal time

98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

26%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$33,066

32nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k40%
  • $30k–$48k23%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k4%
  • Over $110k20%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k40%
$30k–$48k23%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k4%
Over $110k20%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 25,117 people who studied at Harvard University, most often in science & academia (47%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 47% (12,944 people); medicine 2.2% (612 people); law 4.9% (1,351 people); politics & gov 8.1% (2,242 people); business 6.2% (1,718 people); engineering & tech 2.7% (755 people); writing & journalism 14% (3,781 people); film & stage 3.1% (865 people); music 2.1% (582 people); visual arts 2.8% (781 people); sports 4.2% (1,165 people); religion 1.5% (403 people); military 1.5% (418 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia12,94446.9%
medicine6122.2%
law1,3514.9%
politics & gov2,2428.1%
business1,7186.2%
engineering & tech7552.7%
writing & journalism3,78113.7%
film & stage8653.1%
music5822.1%
visual arts7812.8%
sports1,1654.2%
religion4031.5%
military4181.5%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsuniversity teacher (4,397) · researcher (3,550) · writer (2,173) · politician (1,724) · historian (1,332) · economist (1,231) · journalist (1,180) · lawyer (1,116)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 1% for the 1830s to 39% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 13 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1700snot reported25not reported
1710snot reported17not reported
1720snot reported29not reported
1730snot reported37not reported
1740snot reported40not reported
1750snot reported52not reported
1760snot reported57not reported
1770snot reported55not reported
1780snot reported61not reported
1790snot reported85not reported
1800snot reported79not reported
1810snot reported85not reported
1820snot reported88not reported
1830s21621%
1840s31572%
1850s42252%
1860s193795%
1870s185313%
1880s165873%
1890s326775%
1900s769268%
1910s581,1105%
1920s1161,4577%
1930s1761,66610%
1940s4032,01217%
1950s4791,55624%
1960s4611,18128%
1970s43371238%
1980s24834442%
1990s7811041%
2000s8413039%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 296,800 in 2020-04.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-06106,887
2026-05123,644
2026-04119,714
2026-03131,223
2026-02119,107
2026-01130,432
2025-12125,384
2025-11137,015
2025-10141,585
2025-09142,416
2025-08133,350
2025-07122,589
2025-06147,146
2025-05255,215
2025-04263,333
2025-03175,633
2025-02148,279
2025-01186,883
2024-12169,542
2024-11197,966
2024-10177,007
2024-09163,020
2024-08170,285
2024-07152,237
2024-06143,348
2024-05177,305
2024-04189,564
2024-03201,523
2024-02192,367
2024-01268,290
2023-12254,125
2023-11200,026
2023-10207,775
2023-09199,852
2023-08232,270
2023-07236,310
2023-06220,718
2023-05226,455
2023-04227,919
2023-03250,625
2023-02203,978
2023-01230,048
2022-12202,271
2022-11248,631
2022-10249,952
2022-09233,144
2022-08225,130
2022-07197,715
2022-06195,537
2022-05214,005
2022-04216,311
2022-03204,953
2022-02205,133
2022-01224,429
2021-12195,780
2021-11194,762
2021-10220,011
2021-09215,726
2021-08231,192
2021-07216,817
2021-06158,937
2021-05191,520
2021-04185,609
2021-03205,104
2021-02189,144
2021-01249,121
2020-12226,332
2020-11269,944
2020-10240,215
2020-09188,324
2020-08197,013
2020-07219,683
2020-06201,197
2020-05242,612
2020-04296,800
2020-03218,821
2020-02209,013
2020-01203,974
2019-12202,065
2019-11216,063
2019-10215,052
2019-09198,358
2019-08187,128
2019-07172,235
2019-06168,377
2019-05187,454
2019-04191,930
2019-03210,259
2019-02173,909
2019-01213,834
2018-12206,656
2018-11204,296
2018-10212,721
2018-09210,752
2018-08192,508
2018-07174,974
2018-06164,472
2018-05187,519
2018-04185,418
2018-03193,208
2018-02168,803
2018-01181,448
2017-12172,538
2017-11177,931
2017-10182,820
2017-09168,468
2017-08172,907
2017-07160,962
2017-06159,907
2017-05187,590
2017-04183,949
2017-03198,808
2017-02192,391
2017-01234,537
2016-12184,212
2016-11216,171
2016-10192,888
2016-09180,816
2016-08161,874
2016-07167,544
2016-06156,145
2016-05189,455
2016-04175,576
2016-03184,941
2016-02172,232
2016-01173,576
2015-12162,025
2015-11176,184
2015-10185,461
2015-09179,041
2015-08163,430
2015-07153,125

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Theodore Roosevelt Peace 1906
  • Theodore William Richards Chemistry 1914
  • George Minot Medicine 1934
  • William P. Murphy Medicine 1934
  • Edward Adelbert Doisy Medicine 1943
  • Percy Williams Bridgman Physics 1946
Show all 95
  • James Batcheller Sumner Chemistry 1946
  • T. S. Eliot Literature 1948
  • Ralph Bunche Peace 1950
  • Edward Mills Purcell Physics 1952
  • Thomas Huckle Weller Medicine 1954
  • John Franklin Enders Medicine 1954
  • Frederick Chapman Robbins Medicine 1954
  • Charles Brenton Huggins Medicine 1966
  • Robert S. Mulliken Chemistry 1966
  • Paul Samuelson Economics 1970
  • Christian B. Anfinsen Chemistry 1972
  • William Howard Stein Chemistry 1972
  • Wassily Leontief Economics 1973
  • Henry Kissinger Peace 1973
  • Ben Roy Mottelson Physics 1975
  • Daniel Carleton Gajdusek Medicine 1976
  • John Hasbrouck Van Vleck Physics 1977
  • Bertil Ohlin Economics 1977
  • Philip W. Anderson Physics 1977
  • Sheldon Glashow Physics 1979
  • Walter Gilbert Chemistry 1980
  • George Davis Snell Medicine 1980
  • Nicolaas Bloembergen Physics 1981
  • Roald Hoffmann Chemistry 1981
  • James Tobin Economics 1981
  • Kenneth G. Wilson Physics 1982
  • Jerome Karle Chemistry 1985
  • Dudley R. Herschbach Chemistry 1986
  • Robert Solow Economics 1987
  • Jean-Marie Lehn Chemistry 1987
  • Donald J. Cram Chemistry 1987
  • George H. Hitchings Medicine 1988
  • J. Michael Bishop Medicine 1989
  • Harold E. Varmus Medicine 1989
  • E. Donnall Thomas Medicine 1990
  • Clark Gregg Economics 1990
  • Joseph Murray Medicine 1990
  • Joseph Hooton Taylor Physics 1993
  • Shimon Peres Peace 1994
  • David Lee Physics 1996
  • Robert C. Merton Economics 1997
  • Walter Kohn Chemistry 1998
  • Eric Kandel Medicine 2000
  • Karl Barry Sharpless Chemistry 2001
  • William Standish Knowles Chemistry 2001
  • Ryōji Noyori Chemistry 2001
  • Michael Spence Economics 2001
  • H. Robert Horvitz Medicine 2002
  • Vernon L. Smith Economics 2002
  • David Gross Physics 2004
  • Hugh David Politzer Physics 2004
  • Thomas Schelling Economics 2005
  • Roy J. Glauber Physics 2005
  • Richard R. Schrock Chemistry 2005
  • Roger D. Kornberg Chemistry 2006
  • Craig Mello Medicine 2006
  • Mario Capecchi Medicine 2007
  • Leonid Hurwicz Economics 2007
  • Roger Myerson Economics 2007
  • Eric Maskin Economics 2007
  • Al Gore Peace 2007
  • Roger Y. Tsien Chemistry 2008
  • Martin Chalfie Chemistry 2008
  • name not resolved Peace 2009
  • Thomas A. Steitz Chemistry 2009
  • Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Peace 2011
  • Brian Schmidt Physics 2011
  • Adam Riess Physics 2011
  • Saul Perlmutter Physics 2011
  • Thomas J. Sargent Economics 2011
  • Ralph Steinman Medicine 2011
  • Christopher A. Sims Economics 2011
  • Lloyd Shapley Economics 2012
  • David J. Wineland Physics 2012
  • James Rothman Medicine 2013
  • Thomas C. Südhof Medicine 2013
  • Martin Karplus Chemistry 2013
  • George Smith Chemistry 2018
  • Michael Kremer Economics 2019
  • Abhijit Banerjee Economics 2019
  • Gregg L. Semenza Medicine 2019
  • Robert B. Wilson Economics 2020
  • Jennifer Doudna Chemistry 2020
  • Karl Barry Sharpless Chemistry 2022
  • Ben Bernanke Economics 2022
  • Carolyn Bertozzi Chemistry 2022
  • Moungi Bawendi Chemistry 2023
  • Gary Ruvkun Medicine 2024
  • Philippe Aghion Economics 2025

The portrait wall

Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).

Show all 24 portraits

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1363304232), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.