Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Banner Elk, NC

Lees-McRae College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $23,030 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $49,498.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $43,415 ten years after entering, the 24th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 42% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
899

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $49,498 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $22,733 and $33,664 a year depending on income at Lees-McRae College.

Statement of cost · Lees-McRae College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$49,498
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$23,030
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$28,340
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$33,250

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $23,030; $30–48k: $22,733; $48–75k: $25,905; $75–110k: $28,854; over $110k: $33,664. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$23,030
$30k–$48k$22,733
$48k–$75k$25,905
$75k–$110k$28,854
Over $110k$33,664

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $43,415; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,375.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$41,599
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$44,802
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
24th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$43,415
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
13th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$17,375
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $41,599; 8 yrs after entry: $44,802; 10 yrs after entry: $43,415. Median graduate debt: $17,375. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,375.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$41,599
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$44,802
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$43,415
Median graduate debt$17,375

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Lees-McRae College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Zoology/Animal BiologyBachelor's Degree48$35,006$24,120
Human Services, GeneralBachelor's Degree36not reported$15,750
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree25$44,593$15,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree21$44,097$15,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree14$82,456$23,125
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree14$68,923$18,500
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree12not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree8not reported$27,250
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Agriculture/Veterinary Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree3not reportednot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree3not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Special Education and TeachingBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Nutrition SciencesBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Lees-McRae College: 873 undergraduates; 37% of students receive Pell grants; 77% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

77%

56th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

873

47th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

37%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

58th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

42%

finish within 150% of normal time

24th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

40%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$42,683

49th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k29%
  • $30k–$48k19%
  • $48k–$75k17%
  • $75k–$110k18%
  • Over $110k17%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k29%
$30k–$48k19%
$48k–$75k17%
$75k–$110k18%
Over $110k17%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.