Statement · Chapel Hill, NC
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $2,004 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $26,055.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $72,200 ten years after entering, the 92nd percentile among public 4-years.
91% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1789
- Enrollment, 2023
- 34,089
- Website
- unc.edu

(User:Wgreaves) · Public domain
AboutPublic university in North Carolina, US. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is a public research university in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States. Chartered in 1789, the university began enrolling students in 1795, making it one of the oldest public universities in the United States.
From the Wikipedia article “University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill”, revision 1359591164, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $26,055 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $2,004 and $24,396 a year depending on income at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Statement of cost · University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $26,055
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $2,004
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $11,655
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $8,994
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $2,004 |
| $30k–$48k | $3,918 |
| $48k–$75k | $8,538 |
| $75k–$110k | $16,415 |
| Over $110k | $24,396 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $72,200; the median graduate who borrowed owes $14,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $57,057
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $65,584
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
92nd percentile among public 4-years - $72,200
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
26th percentile among public 4-years - $14,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $12,989
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.
- Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $14,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $57,057 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $65,584 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $72,200 |
| Median graduate debt | $14,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Master's Degree | 824 | not reported | not reported |
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 544 | $64,430 | $15,100 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 521 | $67,532 | $15,500 |
| Public Health | Master's Degree | 514 | $96,186 | not reported |
| Behavioral Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | 503 | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 443 | $96,785 | $15,843 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 427 | $124,977 | $14,131 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 401 | $125,645 | $14,339 |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 369 | $71,082 | $15,100 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Bachelor's Degree | 365 | $58,954 | $16,575 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Master's Degree | 219 | $104,860 | not reported |
| Medicine | First Professional Degree | 199 | $173,217 | not reported |
Show all 27 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | 199 | $77,041 | $23,026 |
| Applied Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 193 | $117,954 | $15,300 |
| Law | First Professional Degree | 191 | $103,387 | not reported |
| English Language and Literature, General | Bachelor's Degree | 164 | $54,429 | $14,794 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Bachelor's Degree | 157 | $70,196 | $15,000 |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | First Professional Degree | 156 | $135,580 | not reported |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | Bachelor's Degree | 155 | not reported | $14,825 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 152 | $101,719 | $14,500 |
| Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences | Master's Degree | 30 | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies | Master's Degree | 14 | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 10 | $185,724 | not reported |
| Dentistry | First Professional Degree | 90 | $187,283 | not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | Master's Degree | 21 | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Doctoral Degree | 24 | not reported | not reported |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | First Professional Degree | 33 | not reported | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: 20,752 undergraduates; 20% of students receive Pell grants; 15% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
15%
1st percentile among public 4-years
Undergraduates
20,752
88th percentile among public 4-years
Pell share
20%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
16th percentile among public 4-years
Completion
91%
finish within 150% of normal time
99th percentile among public 4-years
First-generation
20%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$58,193
81st percentile among public 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k21%
- $30k–$48k16%
- $48k–$75k17%
- $75k–$110knot reported
- Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 21% |
| $30k–$48k | 16% |
| $48k–$75k | 17% |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $9,234 in 2009 to $11,655 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,858 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,806 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,809 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 14,969 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 37% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,412 |
| 2002 | 40% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,469 |
| 2003 | 35% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,711 |
| 2004 | 37% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 16,065 |
| 2005 | 36% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 16,278 |
| 2006 | 37% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 16,706 |
| 2007 | 34% | not reported | not reported | $50,200 | 17,138 |
| 2008 | 35% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 17,422 |
| 2009 | 34% | $16,194 | $9,234 | $51,900 | 17,565 |
| 2010 | 32% | $17,777 | $9,549 | not reported | 17,943 |
| 2011 | 34% | $20,208 | $11,551 | $50,400 | 17,791 |
| 2012 | 33% | $21,251 | $12,634 | $51,000 | 17,918 |
| 2013 | 28% | $23,069 | $13,322 | $54,100 | 17,882 |
| 2014 | 28% | $23,978 | $13,243 | $55,600 | 17,908 |
| 2015 | 31% | $23,940 | $13,744 | not reported | 17,951 |
| 2016 | 27% | $24,327 | $13,210 | not reported | 18,169 |
| 2017 | 24% | $24,872 | $14,163 | not reported | 18,658 |
| 2018 | 23% | $25,527 | $13,918 | not reported | 18,946 |
| 2019 | 23% | $23,776 | $12,352 | not reported | 19,014 |
| 2020 | 25% | $24,220 | $12,469 | $72,200 | 19,261 |
| 2021 | 20% | $24,498 | $13,263 | not reported | 19,722 |
| 2022 | 17% | $24,711 | $12,414 | not reported | 19,921 |
| 2023 | 19% | $25,181 | $12,983 | not reported | 20,556 |
| 2024 | 15% | $26,055 | $11,655 | not reported | 20,752 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 6,364 people who studied at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, most often in science & academia (51%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 2,994 | 51.4% |
| medicine | 99 | 1.7% |
| law | 336 | 5.8% |
| politics & gov | 411 | 7.1% |
| business | 124 | 2.1% |
| engineering & tech | 79 | 1.4% |
| writing & journalism | 413 | 7.1% |
| film & stage | 114 | 2.0% |
| music | 58 | 1.0% |
| visual arts | 61 | 1.1% |
| sports | 1,032 | 17.7% |
| religion | 21 | 0.4% |
| military | 82 | 1.4% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,967) · basketball player (538) · university teacher (513) · politician (370) · lawyer (314) · writer (211) · American football player (171) · association football player (159)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1750s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1770s | not reported | 5 | not reported |
| 1780s | not reported | 12 | not reported |
| 1790s | not reported | 20 | not reported |
| 1800s | not reported | 20 | not reported |
| 1810s | not reported | 16 | not reported |
| 1820s | not reported | 29 | not reported |
| 1830s | not reported | 27 | not reported |
| 1840s | not reported | 17 | not reported |
| 1850s | not reported | 13 | not reported |
| 1860s | 1 | 28 | 3% |
| 1870s | 1 | 45 | 2% |
| 1880s | 3 | 39 | 7% |
| 1890s | 8 | 46 | 15% |
| 1900s | 13 | 65 | 17% |
| 1910s | 18 | 110 | 14% |
| 1920s | 23 | 164 | 12% |
| 1930s | 28 | 163 | 15% |
| 1940s | 44 | 270 | 14% |
| 1950s | 66 | 253 | 21% |
| 1960s | 83 | 167 | 33% |
| 1970s | 70 | 152 | 32% |
| 1980s | 76 | 133 | 36% |
| 1990s | 63 | 138 | 31% |
| 2000s | 43 | 56 | 43% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 18,462 |
| 2026-05 | 22,984 |
| 2026-04 | 21,020 |
| 2026-03 | 25,384 |
| 2026-02 | 19,800 |
| 2026-01 | 21,980 |
| 2025-12 | 21,240 |
| 2025-11 | 23,027 |
| 2025-10 | 24,246 |
| 2025-09 | 29,399 |
| 2025-08 | 24,314 |
| 2025-07 | 24,709 |
| 2025-06 | 20,518 |
| 2025-05 | 25,525 |
| 2025-04 | 27,173 |
| 2025-03 | 35,065 |
| 2025-02 | 29,216 |
| 2025-01 | 28,253 |
| 2024-12 | 41,949 |
| 2024-11 | 25,232 |
| 2024-10 | 27,194 |
| 2024-09 | 30,366 |
| 2024-08 | 29,250 |
| 2024-07 | 27,355 |
| 2024-06 | 23,644 |
| 2024-05 | 29,133 |
| 2024-04 | 32,394 |
| 2024-03 | 42,700 |
| 2024-02 | 29,646 |
| 2024-01 | 35,642 |
| 2023-12 | 36,138 |
| 2023-11 | 30,957 |
| 2023-10 | 33,740 |
| 2023-09 | 39,294 |
| 2023-08 | 48,244 |
| 2023-07 | 31,967 |
| 2023-06 | 31,052 |
| 2023-05 | 29,113 |
| 2023-04 | 29,927 |
| 2023-03 | 35,279 |
| 2023-02 | 28,273 |
| 2023-01 | 32,735 |
| 2022-12 | 27,645 |
| 2022-11 | 32,366 |
| 2022-10 | 29,148 |
| 2022-09 | 29,052 |
| 2022-08 | 30,545 |
| 2022-07 | 31,874 |
| 2022-06 | 25,209 |
| 2022-05 | 26,475 |
| 2022-04 | 54,250 |
| 2022-03 | 46,222 |
| 2022-02 | 27,565 |
| 2022-01 | 29,215 |
| 2021-12 | 27,928 |
| 2021-11 | 27,282 |
| 2021-10 | 29,640 |
| 2021-09 | 28,493 |
| 2021-08 | 28,272 |
| 2021-07 | 29,574 |
| 2021-06 | 25,561 |
| 2021-05 | 27,045 |
| 2021-04 | 33,566 |
| 2021-03 | 32,523 |
| 2021-02 | 26,274 |
| 2021-01 | 31,393 |
| 2020-12 | 32,865 |
| 2020-11 | 31,279 |
| 2020-10 | 28,808 |
| 2020-09 | 24,355 |
| 2020-08 | 35,135 |
| 2020-07 | 25,925 |
| 2020-06 | 27,595 |
| 2020-05 | 37,476 |
| 2020-04 | 42,737 |
| 2020-03 | 33,805 |
| 2020-02 | 38,912 |
| 2020-01 | 37,847 |
| 2019-12 | 42,611 |
| 2019-11 | 37,413 |
| 2019-10 | 37,984 |
| 2019-09 | 38,319 |
| 2019-08 | 32,530 |
| 2019-07 | 31,430 |
| 2019-06 | 29,716 |
| 2019-05 | 36,619 |
| 2019-04 | 36,648 |
| 2019-03 | 50,455 |
| 2019-02 | 40,454 |
| 2019-01 | 43,536 |
| 2018-12 | 42,974 |
| 2018-11 | 37,713 |
| 2018-10 | 39,264 |
| 2018-09 | 42,889 |
| 2018-08 | 41,716 |
| 2018-07 | 31,877 |
| 2018-06 | 31,346 |
| 2018-05 | 33,179 |
| 2018-04 | 37,463 |
| 2018-03 | 48,905 |
| 2018-02 | 31,766 |
| 2018-01 | 33,393 |
| 2017-12 | 34,677 |
| 2017-11 | 32,730 |
| 2017-10 | 34,680 |
| 2017-09 | 30,691 |
| 2017-08 | 31,312 |
| 2017-07 | 28,112 |
| 2017-06 | 26,818 |
| 2017-05 | 31,320 |
| 2017-04 | 65,633 |
| 2017-03 | 52,750 |
| 2017-02 | 33,437 |
| 2017-01 | 33,799 |
| 2016-12 | 29,485 |
| 2016-11 | 31,796 |
| 2016-10 | 34,709 |
| 2016-09 | 34,756 |
| 2016-08 | 28,061 |
| 2016-07 | 25,590 |
| 2016-06 | 26,322 |
| 2016-05 | 30,573 |
| 2016-04 | 55,439 |
| 2016-03 | 47,630 |
| 2016-02 | 31,145 |
| 2016-01 | 31,693 |
| 2015-12 | 30,797 |
| 2015-11 | 32,398 |
| 2015-10 | 35,497 |
| 2015-09 | 30,183 |
| 2015-08 | 27,840 |
| 2015-07 | 27,348 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- Robert F. Furchgott Medicine 1998
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- James K. Polk
George Peter Alexander Healy · Public domain
- Michael Jordan
DOD photo by D. Myles Cullen · Public domain
- Thomas Wolfe
Carl Van Vechten · Public domain
- William R. King
Unknown author · Public domain
- Marion Jones
TSGT Rick Sforza, U.S. Air Force · Public domain
Show all 15 portraits
- John Edwards
United States Senate · Public domain
- Andy Griffith
White House photo by Paul Morse · Public domain
- James E. Webb
NASA Johnson Space Center Media Archive · Public domain
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1359591164), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.

