Statement · Berkeley, CA
University of California-Berkeley
Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $5,311 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $45,619.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $92,446 ten years after entering, the 99th percentile among public 4-years.
93% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1868
- Enrollment, 2023
- 48,230
- Website
- berkeley.edu

AboutPublic university in Berkeley, California. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
The University of California, Berkeley is a public land-grant research university in the Southside and Northside neighborhoods of Berkeley, California, United States. Founded in 1868 and named after the Anglo-Irish philosopher George Berkeley, it is the state's first land-grant university and the founding campus of the University of California system.
From the Wikipedia article “University of California, Berkeley”, revision 1364472066, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $45,619 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $5,311 and $34,529 a year depending on income at University of California-Berkeley.
Statement of cost · University of California-Berkeley
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $45,619
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $5,311
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $13,481
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $16,347
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $5,311 |
| $30k–$48k | $6,501 |
| $48k–$75k | $9,693 |
| $75k–$110k | $15,074 |
| Over $110k | $34,529 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $92,446; the median graduate who borrowed owes $13,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $74,919
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $84,865
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
99th percentile among public 4-years - $92,446
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
23rd percentile among public 4-years - $13,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $12,000
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.
- Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $13,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $74,919 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $84,865 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $92,446 |
| Median graduate debt | $13,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 994 | $225,140 | $13,900 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 909 | $125,636 | $13,000 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | 761 | $70,181 | $14,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | 737 | not reported | $13,550 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Master's Degree | 637 | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science/Studies | Master's Degree | 599 | $214,399 | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 480 | $240,462 | $14,437 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Bachelor's Degree | 464 | $89,932 | $12,988 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 428 | $145,003 | $12,195 |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 418 | $78,026 | $13,000 |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | 390 | not reported | $12,111 |
| Law | First Professional Degree | 336 | $188,806 | not reported |
Show all 26 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies | Master's Degree | 324 | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | Master's Degree | 295 | $106,720 | not reported |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | 294 | $78,070 | $13,131 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 265 | $93,369 | $11,180 |
| Applied Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 264 | $144,689 | $14,598 |
| Cognitive Science | Bachelor's Degree | 257 | $100,651 | $13,950 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Bachelor's Degree | 240 | $59,480 | $13,500 |
| Non-Professional Legal Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 234 | $78,127 | $13,723 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | First Professional Degree | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science/Studies | First Professional Degree | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | Doctoral Degree | 39 | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | Doctoral Degree | 66 | $165,865 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | 233 | $135,617 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | First Professional Degree | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
University of California-Berkeley: 33,068 undergraduates; 29% of students receive Pell grants; 11% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
11%
1st percentile among public 4-years
Undergraduates
33,068
96th percentile among public 4-years
Pell share
29%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
40th percentile among public 4-years
Completion
93%
finish within 150% of normal time
99th percentile among public 4-years
First-generation
35%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$31,227
43rd percentile among public 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k37%
- $30k–$48k17%
- $48k–$75k16%
- $75k–$110knot reported
- Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 37% |
| $30k–$48k | 17% |
| $48k–$75k | 16% |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price fell from $13,846 in 2009 to $13,481 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 21,226 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 21,618 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 22,259 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 22,593 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 26% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 23,267 |
| 2002 | 25% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 23,834 |
| 2003 | 24% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 23,205 |
| 2004 | 24% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 22,880 |
| 2005 | 25% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 23,447 |
| 2006 | 27% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 23,863 |
| 2007 | 24% | not reported | not reported | $65,400 | 24,636 |
| 2008 | 23% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 25,151 |
| 2009 | 21% | $26,275 | $13,846 | $64,000 | 25,529 |
| 2010 | 22% | $28,602 | $15,120 | not reported | 25,540 |
| 2011 | 21% | $30,800 | $13,991 | $62,700 | 25,885 |
| 2012 | 22% | $32,445 | $14,015 | $60,800 | 25,774 |
| 2013 | 18% | $32,715 | $13,769 | $61,800 | 25,951 |
| 2014 | 16% | $33,020 | $13,707 | $64,700 | 27,126 |
| 2015 | 17% | $33,989 | $13,197 | not reported | 27,496 |
| 2016 | 17% | $34,924 | $14,468 | not reported | 29,309 |
| 2017 | 17% | $35,767 | $15,430 | not reported | 30,574 |
| 2018 | 15% | $36,739 | $14,846 | not reported | 30,845 |
| 2019 | 16% | $37,852 | $15,329 | not reported | 31,345 |
| 2020 | 17% | $39,016 | $16,032 | $92,446 | 30,796 |
| 2021 | 14% | $37,510 | $15,240 | not reported | 31,811 |
| 2022 | 11% | $41,130 | $17,371 | not reported | 32,475 |
| 2023 | 12% | $42,708 | $14,979 | not reported | 33,073 |
| 2024 | 11% | $45,619 | $13,481 | not reported | 33,068 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 18,567 people who studied at University of California-Berkeley, most often in science & academia (60%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 10,216 | 60.2% |
| medicine | 188 | 1.1% |
| law | 384 | 2.3% |
| politics & gov | 510 | 3.0% |
| business | 440 | 2.6% |
| engineering & tech | 1,362 | 8.0% |
| writing & journalism | 1,296 | 7.6% |
| film & stage | 419 | 2.5% |
| music | 248 | 1.5% |
| visual arts | 561 | 3.3% |
| sports | 1,188 | 7.0% |
| religion | 68 | 0.4% |
| military | 98 | 0.6% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsresearcher (4,609) · university teacher (2,885) · computer scientist (830) · mathematician (713) · writer (703) · basketball player (567) · economist (538) · physicist (455)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1800s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1820s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1830s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1840s | not reported | 4 | not reported |
| 1850s | 5 | 13 | 28% |
| 1860s | 12 | 49 | 20% |
| 1870s | 21 | 65 | 24% |
| 1880s | 36 | 113 | 24% |
| 1890s | 64 | 208 | 24% |
| 1900s | 87 | 284 | 23% |
| 1910s | 90 | 447 | 17% |
| 1920s | 123 | 711 | 15% |
| 1930s | 130 | 753 | 15% |
| 1940s | 314 | 990 | 24% |
| 1950s | 324 | 824 | 28% |
| 1960s | 313 | 634 | 33% |
| 1970s | 236 | 385 | 38% |
| 1980s | 151 | 260 | 37% |
| 1990s | 86 | 137 | 39% |
| 2000s | 81 | 146 | 36% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 38,413 |
| 2026-05 | 48,159 |
| 2026-04 | 49,885 |
| 2026-03 | 49,338 |
| 2026-02 | 46,776 |
| 2026-01 | 54,111 |
| 2025-12 | 52,453 |
| 2025-11 | 54,882 |
| 2025-10 | 60,489 |
| 2025-09 | 57,504 |
| 2025-08 | 58,713 |
| 2025-07 | 46,699 |
| 2025-06 | 48,365 |
| 2025-05 | 55,778 |
| 2025-04 | 61,760 |
| 2025-03 | 73,470 |
| 2025-02 | 54,603 |
| 2025-01 | 65,476 |
| 2024-12 | 62,221 |
| 2024-11 | 66,329 |
| 2024-10 | 81,681 |
| 2024-09 | 79,044 |
| 2024-08 | 88,672 |
| 2024-07 | 65,345 |
| 2024-06 | 60,380 |
| 2024-05 | 72,161 |
| 2024-04 | 77,782 |
| 2024-03 | 81,354 |
| 2024-02 | 68,632 |
| 2024-01 | 81,575 |
| 2023-12 | 73,313 |
| 2023-11 | 72,010 |
| 2023-10 | 71,303 |
| 2023-09 | 86,825 |
| 2023-08 | 95,000 |
| 2023-07 | 99,438 |
| 2023-06 | 71,643 |
| 2023-05 | 78,119 |
| 2023-04 | 78,832 |
| 2023-03 | 88,053 |
| 2023-02 | 73,545 |
| 2023-01 | 83,700 |
| 2022-12 | 84,745 |
| 2022-11 | 88,657 |
| 2022-10 | 89,849 |
| 2022-09 | 84,441 |
| 2022-08 | 84,718 |
| 2022-07 | 79,975 |
| 2022-06 | 75,437 |
| 2022-05 | 81,415 |
| 2022-04 | 76,779 |
| 2022-03 | 74,003 |
| 2022-02 | 64,658 |
| 2022-01 | 71,058 |
| 2021-12 | 66,866 |
| 2021-11 | 70,960 |
| 2021-10 | 77,569 |
| 2021-09 | 78,533 |
| 2021-08 | 76,441 |
| 2021-07 | 73,699 |
| 2021-06 | 53,579 |
| 2021-05 | 65,541 |
| 2021-04 | 73,392 |
| 2021-03 | 74,669 |
| 2021-02 | 67,750 |
| 2021-01 | 70,417 |
| 2020-12 | 67,762 |
| 2020-11 | 88,246 |
| 2020-10 | 72,507 |
| 2020-09 | 58,038 |
| 2020-08 | 77,417 |
| 2020-07 | 61,301 |
| 2020-06 | 60,936 |
| 2020-05 | 77,597 |
| 2020-04 | 85,189 |
| 2020-03 | 78,572 |
| 2020-02 | 67,543 |
| 2020-01 | 75,332 |
| 2019-12 | 81,523 |
| 2019-11 | 81,649 |
| 2019-10 | 79,437 |
| 2019-09 | 79,232 |
| 2019-08 | 71,705 |
| 2019-07 | 70,480 |
| 2019-06 | 66,499 |
| 2019-05 | 76,544 |
| 2019-04 | 81,684 |
| 2019-03 | 86,093 |
| 2019-02 | 65,692 |
| 2019-01 | 80,234 |
| 2018-12 | 74,699 |
| 2018-11 | 79,318 |
| 2018-10 | 83,424 |
| 2018-09 | 80,935 |
| 2018-08 | 72,694 |
| 2018-07 | 67,699 |
| 2018-06 | 65,820 |
| 2018-05 | 80,247 |
| 2018-04 | 83,116 |
| 2018-03 | 85,687 |
| 2018-02 | 65,842 |
| 2018-01 | 66,836 |
| 2017-12 | 64,893 |
| 2017-11 | 73,768 |
| 2017-10 | 75,301 |
| 2017-09 | 86,050 |
| 2017-08 | 72,902 |
| 2017-07 | 65,779 |
| 2017-06 | 65,556 |
| 2017-05 | 80,138 |
| 2017-04 | 95,029 |
| 2017-03 | 83,140 |
| 2017-02 | 101,017 |
| 2017-01 | 78,615 |
| 2016-12 | 70,042 |
| 2016-11 | 76,635 |
| 2016-10 | 78,231 |
| 2016-09 | 85,847 |
| 2016-08 | 76,257 |
| 2016-07 | 63,328 |
| 2016-06 | 70,902 |
| 2016-05 | 85,117 |
| 2016-04 | 85,930 |
| 2016-03 | 84,635 |
| 2016-02 | 70,921 |
| 2016-01 | 72,391 |
| 2015-12 | 64,080 |
| 2015-11 | 72,243 |
| 2015-10 | 83,193 |
| 2015-09 | 78,955 |
| 2015-08 | 68,823 |
| 2015-07 | 64,715 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- Harold Urey Chemistry 1934
- Joseph Erlanger Medicine 1944
- William Giauque Chemistry 1949
- Glenn Theodore Seaborg Chemistry 1951
- Selman Abraham Waksman Medicine 1952
- Willis Lamb Physics 1955
Show all 38
- Willard Libby Chemistry 1960
- Hamilton Smith Medicine 1978
- Lawrence Klein Economics 1980
- Henry Taube Chemistry 1983
- Yuan T. Lee Chemistry 1986
- Thomas Cech Chemistry 1989
- Octavio Paz Literature 1990
- Kary Mullis Chemistry 1993
- Douglass North Economics 1993
- Mario Molina Chemistry 1995
- Robert Curl Chemistry 1996
- Steven Chu Physics 1997
- Robert B. Laughlin Physics 1998
- Alan J. Heeger Chemistry 2000
- Daniel Kahneman Economics 2002
- David Gross Physics 2004
- Thomas Schelling Economics 2005
- John C. Mather Physics 2006
- Andrew Fire Medicine 2006
- Carol Greider Medicine 2009
- Thomas J. Sargent Economics 2011
- Christopher A. Sims Economics 2011
- Adam Riess Physics 2011
- Saul Perlmutter Physics 2011
- David J. Wineland Physics 2012
- Barry C. Barish Physics 2017
- Frances Arnold Chemistry 2018
- David Julius Medicine 2021
- Carolyn Bertozzi Chemistry 2022
- Gary Ruvkun Medicine 2024
- David Baker Chemistry 2024
- John M. Martinis Physics 2025
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- Jack London
published by L C Page and Company Boston 1903 · Public domain
- Gregory Peck
Studio · Public domain
- Philip K. Dick
Arthur Knight (photographer) · Public domain
- Zulfikar Ali Bhutto
Bernard Gotfryd · Public domain
Show all 15 portraits
- Steven Chu
Department of Energy · Public domain
- David Gross
LANL · Attribution
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1364472066), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.

