Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Lancaster, PA

Franklin and Marshall College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $12,321 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $85,776.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $76,124 ten years after entering, the 89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 84% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,070

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $85,776 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,321 and $49,996 a year depending on income at Franklin and Marshall College.

Statement of cost · Franklin and Marshall College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$85,776
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$12,321
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$36,425
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$70,794

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $12,321; $30–48k: $16,942; $48–75k: $16,245; $75–110k: $25,104; over $110k: $49,996. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$12,321
$30k–$48k$16,942
$48k–$75k$16,245
$75k–$110k$25,104
Over $110k$49,996

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $76,124; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$62,544
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$64,068
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$76,124
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
18th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$19,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$19,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $62,544; 8 yrs after entry: $64,068; 10 yrs after entry: $76,124. Median graduate debt: $19,000. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$62,544
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$64,068
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$76,124
Median graduate debt$19,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Franklin and Marshall College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree92$78,260$19,875
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree62$88,150$19,500
Behavioral SciencesBachelor's Degree51not reported$19,000
MathematicsBachelor's Degree45not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree41$75,967$23,048
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree41$71,360$19,000
Public HealthBachelor's Degree36not reported$20,875
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree24not reported$19,000
SociologyBachelor's Degree21not reported$19,000
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree19not reported$22,888
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree19not reportednot reported
AnthropologyBachelor's Degree18not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesBachelor's Degree15not reportednot reported
Area StudiesBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree13not reportednot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree11not reported$23,083
ChemistryBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Franklin and Marshall College: 1,799 undergraduates; 16% of students receive Pell grants; 28% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

28%

8th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,799

72nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

16%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

12th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

84%

finish within 150% of normal time

90th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

19%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$84,574

91st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.