Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Northfield, MN

Carleton College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $7,881 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $84,893.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $75,525 ten years after entering, the 88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 90% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,106

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $84,893 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $7,881 and $44,082 a year depending on income at Carleton College.

Statement of cost · Carleton College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$84,893
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$7,881
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$25,407
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$68,892

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $7,881; $30–48k: $8,203; $48–75k: $9,680; $75–110k: $18,485; over $110k: $44,082. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$7,881
$30k–$48k$8,203
$48k–$75k$9,680
$75k–$110k$18,485
Over $110k$44,082

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $75,525; the median graduate who borrowed owes $16,750.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$53,989
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$70,720
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$75,525
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
12th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$16,750
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,960

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $53,989; 8 yrs after entry: $70,720; 10 yrs after entry: $75,525. Median graduate debt: $16,750. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $16,750.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$53,989
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$70,720
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$75,525
Median graduate debt$16,750

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Carleton College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree80$121,569$18,233
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree65$61,887$17,929
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree40not reportednot reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree39not reported$11,000
ChemistryBachelor's Degree38not reported$17,000
EconomicsBachelor's Degree37$107,997$19,500
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree29not reported$16,700
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree25not reportednot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree23not reported$21,167
Sociology and AnthropologyBachelor's Degree23not reportednot reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree21not reportednot reported
Area StudiesBachelor's Degree18not reportednot reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree15not reportednot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree14$55,953not reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Cognitive ScienceBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degreenot reportednot reported$19,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Carleton College: 2,086 undergraduates; 17% of students receive Pell grants; 20% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

20%

6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

2,086

76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

17%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

14th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

90%

finish within 150% of normal time

94th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

16%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$78,779

87th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.