Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Abilene, TX

Hardin-Simmons University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $13,822 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $45,904.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $54,771 ten years after entering, the 56th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 46% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,906

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $45,904 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $13,822 and $25,639 a year depending on income at Hardin-Simmons University.

Statement of cost · Hardin-Simmons University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$45,904
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$13,822
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$19,555
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$32,960

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $13,822; $30–48k: $15,190; $48–75k: $17,248; $75–110k: $18,182; over $110k: $25,639. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$13,822
$30k–$48k$15,190
$48k–$75k$17,248
$75k–$110k$18,182
Over $110k$25,639

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $54,771; the median graduate who borrowed owes $24,711.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$44,392
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,639
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
56th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$54,771
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
52nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$24,711
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$13,359

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $44,392; 8 yrs after entry: $48,639; 10 yrs after entry: $54,771. Median graduate debt: $24,711. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $24,711.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$44,392
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$48,639
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$54,771
Median graduate debt$24,711

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Hardin-Simmons University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree40$55,802$26,850
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree39not reported$24,290
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsFirst Professional Degree36not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree30not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree26not reported$26,500
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree24$40,256$26,695
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree19not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree16$54,297$27,709
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree16$50,755not reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree14$79,214not reported
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsGraduate/Professional Certificate10not reportednot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree9not reportednot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree9not reportednot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree9not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree9not reportednot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree8not reportednot reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degreenot reported$87,790not reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degreenot reported$53,833not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree7$56,944$28,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Hardin-Simmons University: 1,283 undergraduates; 40% of students receive Pell grants; 90% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

90%

81st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,283

60th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

40%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

64th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

46%

finish within 150% of normal time

30th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

31%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$53,330

64th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k24%
  • $30k–$48k15%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k24%
$30k–$48k15%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.