Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Nacogdoches, TX

Stephen F Austin State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,318 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $25,791.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $49,634 ten years after entering, the 49th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 53% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
12,740

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $25,791 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,318 and $22,959 a year depending on income at Stephen F Austin State University.

Statement of cost · Stephen F Austin State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$25,791
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,318
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$14,260
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$11,128

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,318; $30–48k: $11,023; $48–75k: $13,100; $75–110k: $17,609; over $110k: $22,959. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,318
$30k–$48k$11,023
$48k–$75k$13,100
$75k–$110k$17,609
Over $110k$22,959

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $49,634; the median graduate who borrowed owes $23,409.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$43,144
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$47,094
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
49th percentile among public 4-years
$49,634
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
82nd percentile among public 4-years
$23,409
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$17,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $43,144; 8 yrs after entry: $47,094; 10 yrs after entry: $49,634. Median graduate debt: $23,409. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $23,409.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$43,144
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$47,094
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$49,634
Median graduate debt$23,409

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Stephen F Austin State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree270$51,172$25,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree143$52,443$25,995
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree136$53,002$25,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree127$86,054$25,125
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree102$49,258$24,500
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree98$68,305not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree83$45,898$30,543
Social WorkMaster's Degree75$53,743not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree69$41,393$27,500
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree69$33,915$26,000
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree66$43,348$24,000
MusicBachelor's Degree66$57,180$27,000
Show all 25 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Agriculture, GeneralBachelor's Degree65not reportednot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree65$54,598$20,500
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree56$42,095$21,500
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree56$47,821$26,690
MarketingBachelor's Degree54$53,325$23,500
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree51$70,731$23,250
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree46$76,867$25,000
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree46$62,123$22,828
Engineering PhysicsBachelor's Degree22not reported$27,375
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree35$82,288not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree30$68,063not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree31not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree6$56,100not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Stephen F Austin State University: 8,728 undergraduates; 39% of students receive Pell grants; 94% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

94%

82nd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

8,728

68th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

39%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

70th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

53%

finish within 150% of normal time

66th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

35%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$44,427

68th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k28%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75k17%
  • $75k–$110k15%
  • Over $110k22%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k28%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75k17%
$75k–$110k15%
Over $110k22%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.