Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Lynchburg, VA

Central Virginia Community College

Public2-year · Certificate degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $5,752 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $12,829.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $36,627 ten years after entering, the 35th percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 45% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
4,434

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $12,829 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $5,752 and $12,434 a year depending on income at Central Virginia Community College.

Statement of cost · Central Virginia Community College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$12,829
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$5,752
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$6,928
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$5,157

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $5,752; $30–48k: $6,256; $48–75k: $8,639; $75–110k: $7,982; over $110k: $12,434. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$5,752
$30k–$48k$6,256
$48k–$75k$8,639
$75k–$110k$7,982
Over $110k$12,434

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $36,627; the median graduate who borrowed owes $8,625.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$31,969
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$35,883
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
35th percentile among public 2-years
$36,627
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
26th percentile among public 2-years
$8,625
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$5,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $31,969; 8 yrs after entry: $35,883; 10 yrs after entry: $36,627. Median graduate debt: $8,625. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $8,625.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$31,969
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$35,883
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$36,627
Median graduate debt$8,625

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Central Virginia Community College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree281$40,590$9,811
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma271not reported$9,705
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma152not reported$8,625
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma91not reported$15,859
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma77not reported$8,250
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree32$64,365$8,479
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma26not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree20not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma19not reportednot reported
Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma18not reportednot reported
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma17not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma16not reportednot reported
Show all 22 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma14not reportednot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma13not reportednot reported
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma12not reportednot reported
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree11not reportednot reported
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma10not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree10not reportednot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma9not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree7not reportednot reported
Precision Metal WorkingNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification)not reportednot reportednot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma0$40,655$11,961

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Central Virginia Community College: 2,249 undergraduates; 36% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

2,249

53rd percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

36%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

71st percentile among public 2-years

Completion

45%

finish within 150% of normal time

68th percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

43%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$22,173

49th percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k46%
  • $30k–$48k23%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k46%
$30k–$48k23%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.