Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Wheeling, WV

Wheeling University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $17,739 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $42,504.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $57,949 ten years after entering, the 64th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 23% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
888

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $42,504 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $17,739 and $22,824 a year depending on income at Wheeling University.

Statement of cost · Wheeling University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$42,504
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$17,739
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$20,503
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$29,875

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $17,739; $30–48k: $19,718; $48–75k: $19,913; $75–110k: $22,608; over $110k: $22,824. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$17,739
$30k–$48k$19,718
$48k–$75k$19,913
$75k–$110k$22,608
Over $110k$22,824

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $57,949; the median graduate who borrowed owes $25,125.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,482
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$54,144
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
64th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$57,949
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
63rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$25,125
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,375

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $48,482; 8 yrs after entry: $54,144; 10 yrs after entry: $57,949. Median graduate debt: $25,125. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $25,125.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$48,482
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$54,144
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$57,949
Median graduate debt$25,125

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Wheeling University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsFirst Professional Degree37not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree25$56,888$27,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree14$75,402not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree11$115,236not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree6$67,448not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree5not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree5not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree3$39,631not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Physical Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree0not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma0not reportednot reported
Engineering ScienceBachelor's Degree0not reportednot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesBachelor's Degree0not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree0$53,869not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Wheeling University: 589 undergraduates; 32% of students receive Pell grants; 63% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

63%

32nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

589

35th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

32%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

45th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

23%

finish within 150% of normal time

8th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

37%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$59,201

70th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k21%
  • $30k–$48k11%
  • $48k–$75k20%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k21%
$30k–$48k11%
$48k–$75k20%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.