Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Oakland, CA

Merritt College

Public2-year · Certificate degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $13,744 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $21,424.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $44,392 ten years after entering, the 83rd percentile among public 2-years.

  3. 26% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
11,059

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $21,424 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,825 and $20,036 a year depending on income at Merritt College.

Statement of cost · Merritt College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$21,424
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$13,744
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$14,021
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$1,258

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $13,744; $30–48k: $14,102; $48–75k: $12,825; $75–110k: $18,528; over $110k: $20,036. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years, from $5,297 to $10,706; dotted line at the median, $7,702.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 2-years (all incomes), $5,297 to $10,706. Dotted line: the median, $7,702.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$13,744
$30k–$48k$14,102
$48k–$75k$12,825
$75k–$110k$18,528
Over $110k$20,036

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $44,392; median graduate debt is not reported.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$36,329
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$37,955
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
83rd percentile among public 2-years
$44,392
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
not reported
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$9,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 2-years at 10 years: $35,069 to $42,382.

6 yrs after entry: $36,329; 8 yrs after entry: $37,955; 10 yrs after entry: $44,392. Median graduate debt: not reported. Shaded band: middle half of public 2-years at 10 years, from $35,069 to $42,382; dotted line at the median, $38,550.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 2-years, 10 years out ($35,069 to $42,382); dotted line is the median.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$36,329
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$37,955
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$44,392
Median graduate debtnot reported

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Merritt College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma201$38,728not reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree131not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma78not reportednot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree76$47,026not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree45$33,629not reported
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree34not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree28not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma25not reportednot reported
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma24not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree21not reportednot reported
Legal Support ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma20not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree18not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business ServicesAssociate's Degree17not reportednot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma17not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree16$83,038$11,500
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree14not reportednot reported
Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma13not reportednot reported
Legal Support ServicesAssociate's Degree12not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree12not reportednot reported
Real EstateUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma11not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Merritt College: 5,288 undergraduates; 11% of students receive Pell grants; no admission rate is reported (common at open-admission schools).

Admission rate

No admission rate reported (common at open-admission schools)

Undergraduates

5,288

78th percentile among public 2-years

Pell share

11%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

3rd percentile among public 2-years

Completion

26%

finish within 150% of normal time

16th percentile among public 2-years

First-generation

55%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$13,204

3rd percentile among public 2-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k64%
  • $30k–$48k21%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k64%
$30k–$48k21%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.