Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Golden, CO

Colorado School of Mines

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $16,849 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $40,560.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $97,335 ten years after entering, above the 99th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 82% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
7,872

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $40,560 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $16,849 and $35,112 a year depending on income at Colorado School of Mines.

Statement of cost · Colorado School of Mines

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$40,560
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$16,849
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$28,690
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$21,914

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $16,849; $30–48k: $18,162; $48–75k: $22,192; $75–110k: $28,183; over $110k: $35,112. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$16,849
$30k–$48k$18,162
$48k–$75k$22,192
$75k–$110k$28,183
Over $110k$35,112

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $97,335; the median graduate who borrowed owes $23,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$82,950
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$90,777
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
above the 99th percentile among public 4-years
$97,335
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
79th percentile among public 4-years
$23,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$17,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $82,950; 8 yrs after entry: $90,777; 10 yrs after entry: $97,335. Median graduate debt: $23,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $23,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$82,950
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$90,777
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$97,335
Median graduate debt$23,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Colorado School of Mines
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree321$93,871$25,000
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree222$136,319$23,000
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree149$95,781$27,000
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree83$91,060$25,000
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree80$103,408$22,000
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree68not reportednot reported
Metallurgical EngineeringBachelor's Degree61$93,910$26,269
Petroleum EngineeringBachelor's Degree60$105,804$27,000
Engineering PhysicsBachelor's Degree53$96,528$21,500
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree52$116,080not reported
Geological/Geophysical EngineeringBachelor's Degree46$84,373$27,000
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree45not reportednot reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Engineering-Related FieldsMaster's Degree40not reportednot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesMaster's Degree35$99,218not reported
Applied MathematicsBachelor's Degree32$89,416$21,500
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree30$83,766$23,500
EconomicsMaster's Degree30$128,586not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree28$95,768not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringGraduate/Professional Certificate27not reportednot reported
Geological/Geophysical EngineeringMaster's Degree27not reportednot reported
Mining and Mineral EngineeringBachelor's Degree17$121,247$25,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Colorado School of Mines: 6,155 undergraduates; 14% of students receive Pell grants; 61% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

61%

18th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

6,155

58th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

14%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

4th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

82%

finish within 150% of normal time

95th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

15%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$95,766

99th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k12%
  • $30k–$48k8%
  • $48k–$75k12%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k12%
$30k–$48k8%
$48k–$75k12%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.