Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Amherst, MA

University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,164 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $34,549.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $71,631 ten years after entering, the 91st percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 83% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1863
Enrollment, 2023
37,599
Website
umass.edu
Campus of University of Massachusetts-Amherst

The original uploader was Eraboin at English Wikipedia. · CC BY 2.5

AboutPublic research university in Amherst, Massachusetts, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Massachusetts Amherst is a public land-grant research university in Amherst, Massachusetts, United States. It is the flagship campus of the University of Massachusetts system and was founded in 1863 as the Massachusetts Agricultural College. It is also a member of the Five College Consortium, along with four other colleges in the Pioneer Valley.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Massachusetts Amherst”, revision 1361886072, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $34,549 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,164 and $30,793 a year depending on income at University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Statement of cost · University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$34,549
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,164
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$22,383
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$17,772

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,164; $30–48k: $10,456; $48–75k: $12,932; $75–110k: $18,964; over $110k: $30,793. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,164
$30k–$48k$10,456
$48k–$75k$12,932
$75k–$110k$18,964
Over $110k$30,793

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $71,631; the median graduate who borrowed owes $22,763.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$60,347
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$66,904
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
91st percentile among public 4-years
$71,631
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
78th percentile among public 4-years
$22,763
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$20,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $60,347; 8 yrs after entry: $66,904; 10 yrs after entry: $71,631. Median graduate debt: $22,763. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $22,763.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$60,347
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$66,904
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$71,631
Median graduate debt$22,763

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Massachusetts-Amherst
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree617$62,236$26,000
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree498$132,046$23,569
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree489$150,611not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree417$91,255$26,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree371$68,103$27,000
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree343$98,716$23,250
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree317$91,248$22,014
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree297$74,087$25,125
MathematicsBachelor's Degree297$84,846$23,250
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree291not reportednot reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree266$66,020$26,000
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree265$57,091$29,309
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MarketingBachelor's Degree204$71,263$23,750
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree188$68,047$24,865
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree180$115,325not reported
Data AnalyticsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma178not reportednot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree173$78,038$25,916
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree169$76,709$27,000
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree158$57,260$25,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree157$70,648$26,227
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree8$118,448not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree75$123,984$27,000
Education, GeneralDoctoral Degree0$87,776not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree42$99,215$27,000
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyMaster's Degree11not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree135$99,495$23,250

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Massachusetts-Amherst: 23,671 undergraduates; 20% of students receive Pell grants; 60% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

60%

16th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

23,671

91st percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

20%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

16th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

83%

finish within 150% of normal time

96th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

22%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$74,291

93rd percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k17%
  • $30k–$48k11%
  • $48k–$75k15%
  • $75k–$110k17%
  • Over $110k40%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k17%
$30k–$48k11%
$48k–$75k15%
$75k–$110k17%
Over $110k40%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 3,351 people who studied at University of Massachusetts-Amherst, most often in science & academia (50%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 50% (1,536 people); medicine 0.7% (21 people); law 1.3% (41 people); politics & gov 4.1% (127 people); business 2.0% (62 people); engineering & tech 3.9% (120 people); writing & journalism 9.6% (297 people); film & stage 2.2% (69 people); music 2.0% (61 people); visual arts 2.0% (63 people); sports 22% (666 people); religion 0.2% (5 people); military 0.5% (16 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,53649.8%
medicine210.7%
law411.3%
politics & gov1274.1%
business622.0%
engineering & tech1203.9%
writing & journalism2979.6%
film & stage692.2%
music612.0%
visual arts632.0%
sports66621.6%
religion50.2%
military160.5%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (939) · basketball player (532) · university teacher (328) · writer (178) · politician (120) · poet (74) · computer scientist (71) · journalist (64)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 8% for the 1870s to 52% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 8 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1810snot reported1not reported
1820snot reported7not reported
1830snot reported1not reported
1840snot reported6not reported
1850snot reported11not reported
1860snot reported7not reported
1870s1118%
1880snot reported9not reported
1890snot reported14not reported
1900s51624%
1910s42813%
1920s83618%
1930s218121%
1940s5314127%
1950s7818630%
1960s5311432%
1970s4010128%
1980s269621%
1990s234932%
2000s151452%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 26,727 in 2018-10.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0610,200
2026-0512,478
2026-0415,411
2026-0314,561
2026-0211,992
2026-0113,521
2025-1213,466
2025-1116,229
2025-1015,626
2025-0916,732
2025-0814,536
2025-0713,325
2025-0613,063
2025-0516,013
2025-0417,149
2025-0322,179
2025-0216,071
2025-0120,883
2024-1218,525
2024-1121,200
2024-1022,083
2024-0920,786
2024-0818,574
2024-0716,302
2024-0614,592
2024-0519,185
2024-0420,399
2024-0321,740
2024-0219,154
2024-0122,929
2023-1219,237
2023-1119,818
2023-1021,804
2023-0921,018
2023-0821,291
2023-0718,010
2023-0617,411
2023-0518,882
2023-0421,196
2023-0325,290
2023-0220,357
2023-0121,011
2022-1219,393
2022-1121,093
2022-1021,255
2022-0920,715
2022-0821,178
2022-0718,498
2022-0618,706
2022-0517,856
2022-0423,731
2022-0322,208
2022-0220,453
2022-0121,927
2021-1219,542
2021-1120,230
2021-1022,281
2021-0921,645
2021-0820,773
2021-0721,820
2021-0614,986
2021-0516,077
2021-0423,378
2021-0319,239
2021-0215,532
2021-0117,272
2020-1217,840
2020-1116,489
2020-1017,115
2020-0914,341
2020-0815,211
2020-0713,839
2020-0613,546
2020-0518,726
2020-0421,953
2020-0320,741
2020-0220,151
2020-0121,735
2019-1223,410
2019-1122,772
2019-1023,939
2019-0922,713
2019-0821,494
2019-0717,327
2019-0616,103
2019-0518,651
2019-0423,690
2019-0323,674
2019-0219,883
2019-0123,236
2018-1224,481
2018-1125,306
2018-1026,727
2018-0923,398
2018-0821,706
2018-0718,511
2018-0616,284
2018-0518,763
2018-0422,468
2018-0321,682
2018-0217,015
2018-0119,099
2017-1217,639
2017-1118,323
2017-1018,989
2017-0918,741
2017-0817,085
2017-0716,656
2017-0615,343
2017-0517,070
2017-0420,538
2017-0320,208
2017-0216,879
2017-0117,553
2016-1217,386
2016-1118,194
2016-1020,755
2016-0920,803
2016-0816,160
2016-0714,157
2016-0614,580
2016-0516,689
2016-0418,351
2016-0318,823
2016-0217,188
2016-0118,237
2015-1215,930
2015-1116,880
2015-1018,575
2015-0918,925
2015-0815,923
2015-0715,383

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Joseph Hooton Taylor Physics 1993
  • Russell Alan Hulse Physics 1993
  • Vernon L. Smith Economics 2002

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1361886072), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.