Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Coral Gables, FL

University of Miami

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $15,978 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $86,078.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $75,328 ten years after entering, the 88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 84% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1925
Enrollment, 2023
21,990
Motto
“Great is the truth”
Campus of University of Miami

Unknown author · Public domain

AboutPrivate university in Coral Gables, Florida, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Miami is a private research university in Coral Gables, Florida, United States. As of 2025, the university enrolled 20,104 students in two colleges and eight schools across over 350 academic majors and programs, including the Miller School of Medicine in Miami's Health District, the law school on the main campus, the Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science on Virginia Key, and additional research facilities in southern Miami-Dade County.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Miami”, revision 1359893313, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $86,078 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,978 and $50,352 a year depending on income at University of Miami.

Statement of cost · University of Miami

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$86,078
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$15,978
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$37,244
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$62,616

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $15,978; $30–48k: $17,941; $48–75k: $21,768; $75–110k: $27,982; over $110k: $50,352. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$15,978
$30k–$48k$17,941
$48k–$75k$21,768
$75k–$110k$27,982
Over $110k$50,352

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $75,328; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$61,508
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$70,100
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$75,328
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
13th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$17,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $61,508; 8 yrs after entry: $70,100; 10 yrs after entry: $75,328. Median graduate debt: $17,500. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$61,508
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$70,100
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$75,328
Median graduate debt$17,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Miami
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
LawFirst Professional Degree391$109,945not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree245$85,878$23,750
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree213$111,946$14,500
MedicineFirst Professional Degree211$139,150not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree195$120,747not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree191$54,136$18,500
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyMaster's Degree164$68,592not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree162not reportednot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree152$82,805$19,000
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree143$86,260not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree133$68,154$17,500
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree131$75,837$18,000
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyMaster's Degree121$51,785not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree121$120,429not reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree108$76,031$15,250
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree107$77,568$17,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree105$81,133$18,500
MusicBachelor's Degree97$40,816$13,998
Applied MathematicsMaster's Degree90not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree84$64,693$16,991
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree9not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree1not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree53$101,751$18,830
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree51$96,441$15,625
Finance and Financial Management ServicesMaster's Degree35not reportednot reported
TaxationMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Miami: 12,913 undergraduates; 15% of students receive Pell grants; 19% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

19%

6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

12,913

99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

15%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

11th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

84%

finish within 150% of normal time

90th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

20%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$54,691

65th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k24%
  • $30k–$48k14%
  • $48k–$75k15%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k24%
$30k–$48k14%
$48k–$75k15%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,395 people who studied at University of Miami, most often in sports (33%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 31% (750 people); medicine 1.3% (31 people); law 3.5% (84 people); politics & gov 5.3% (126 people); business 3.8% (91 people); engineering & tech 0.9% (21 people); writing & journalism 5.9% (141 people); film & stage 5.9% (142 people); music 6.3% (150 people); visual arts 2.4% (56 people); sports 33% (776 people); religion 0.2% (4 people); military 0.7% (16 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia75031.4%
medicine311.3%
law843.5%
politics & gov1265.3%
business913.8%
engineering & tech210.9%
writing & journalism1415.9%
film & stage1425.9%
music1506.3%
visual arts562.4%
sports77632.5%
religion40.2%
military160.7%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (551) · basketball player (411) · American football player (200) · politician (116) · university teacher (93) · lawyer (74) · actor (73) · composer (63)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 21% for the 1900s to 43% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 3 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1850snot reported1not reported
1880snot reported3not reported
1890s1not reportednot reported
1900s31121%
1910s1234%
1920s95913%
1930s188917%
1940s3312022%
1950s4214023%
1960s5414627%
1970s3811525%
1980s4310429%
1990s477738%
2000s283743%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 82,787 in 2026-01.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0620,214
2026-0522,223
2026-0420,972
2026-0327,151
2026-0220,886
2026-0182,787
2025-1231,424
2025-1130,714
2025-1033,377
2025-0949,081
2025-0828,837
2025-0720,792
2025-0619,670
2025-0524,253
2025-0426,388
2025-0328,903
2025-0225,531
2025-0133,029
2024-1233,748
2024-1132,606
2024-1030,725
2024-0939,208
2024-0830,695
2024-0722,316
2024-0620,879
2024-0527,421
2024-0426,201
2024-0325,724
2024-0225,911
2024-0133,486
2023-1231,677
2023-1130,000
2023-1032,464
2023-0939,767
2023-0831,538
2023-0725,904
2023-0626,355
2023-0530,510
2023-0436,548
2023-0355,549
2023-0231,084
2023-0136,748
2022-1231,185
2022-1131,800
2022-1031,085
2022-0934,940
2022-0833,667
2022-0731,255
2022-0626,806
2022-0530,156
2022-0427,195
2022-0335,629
2022-0227,944
2022-0135,592
2021-1234,205
2021-1127,714
2021-1029,024
2021-0931,668
2021-0831,200
2021-0728,310
2021-0619,754
2021-0527,268
2021-0429,388
2021-0329,407
2021-0224,233
2021-0129,759
2020-1230,444
2020-1133,955
2020-1030,992
2020-0926,138
2020-0823,618
2020-0725,327
2020-0625,796
2020-0536,040
2020-0432,993
2020-0323,992
2020-0226,478
2020-0132,574
2019-1233,195
2019-1129,682
2019-1030,418
2019-0932,695
2019-0836,361
2019-0723,006
2019-0621,028
2019-0525,131
2019-0424,055
2019-0327,646
2019-0223,695
2019-0130,026
2018-1231,383
2018-1129,799
2018-1033,193
2018-0933,528
2018-0829,255
2018-0723,403
2018-0621,412
2018-0524,444
2018-0428,785
2018-0332,343
2018-0227,019
2018-0129,361
2017-1237,752
2017-1154,287
2017-1031,399
2017-0930,338
2017-0827,272
2017-0723,523
2017-0619,758
2017-0524,529
2017-0425,570
2017-0329,486
2017-0224,128
2017-0129,072
2016-1231,099
2016-1130,398
2016-1033,787
2016-0929,365
2016-0824,807
2016-0722,832
2016-0623,790
2016-0524,988
2016-0425,491
2016-0335,841
2016-0227,189
2016-0133,347
2015-1235,829
2015-1134,824
2015-1041,725
2015-0931,439
2015-0827,703
2015-0725,074

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1359893313), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.