Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · New Orleans, LA

Tulane University of Louisiana

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $16,126 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $87,004.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $63,268 ten years after entering, the 76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 86% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1834
Enrollment, 2023
15,598
Website
tulane.edu
Campus of Tulane University of Louisiana

Infrogmation of New Orleans · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPrivate university in New Orleans, Louisiana, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The Tulane University of Louisiana is a private research university in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. Founded as the Medical College of Louisiana in 1834 by a cohort of medical doctors, it became a comprehensive public university as the University of Louisiana in 1847. The institution became private under the endowments of Paul Tulane and Josephine Louise Newcomb in 1884 and 1887. The Tulane University School of Law and the Tulane University School of Medicine are, respectively, the 12th oldest law school and 15th oldest medical school in the United States.

From the Wikipedia article “Tulane University”, revision 1362660670, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $87,004 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $16,126 and $56,667 a year depending on income at Tulane University of Louisiana.

Statement of cost · Tulane University of Louisiana

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$87,004
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$16,126
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$39,949
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$68,678

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $16,126; $30–48k: $18,041; $48–75k: $20,149; $75–110k: $28,207; over $110k: $56,667. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$16,126
$30k–$48k$18,041
$48k–$75k$20,149
$75k–$110k$28,207
Over $110k$56,667

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $63,268; the median graduate who borrowed owes $20,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$50,220
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$56,725
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$63,268
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
22nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$20,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$19,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $50,220; 8 yrs after entry: $56,725; 10 yrs after entry: $63,268. Median graduate debt: $20,500. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $20,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$50,220
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$56,725
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$63,268
Median graduate debt$20,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Tulane University of Louisiana
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree288$109,495$21,500
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree223not reportednot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree213$107,934not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree203$105,134$19,250
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree194not reportednot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree176$142,881not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree174$89,664$19,500
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree161$73,281$19,500
Social WorkMaster's Degree160$58,865not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree145$55,703$23,082
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree139$68,622$19,500
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesBachelor's Degree118$69,033$19,500
Show all 23 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
EconomicsBachelor's Degree115$89,211$19,500
Business/Commerce, GeneralMaster's Degree110$136,564not reported
Applied MathematicsMaster's Degree107not reportednot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherMaster's Degree105$63,186not reported
Legal Professions and Studies, OtherMaster's Degree79not reportednot reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree79$83,940not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesMaster's Degree69$136,759not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree67$58,614$20,652
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree24not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree52not reported$19,000
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree28$109,205$23,760

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Tulane University of Louisiana: 7,767 undergraduates; 10% of students receive Pell grants; 14% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

14%

5th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

7,767

97th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

10%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

4th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

86%

finish within 150% of normal time

92nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

18%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$64,959

77th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k18%
  • $30k–$48k11%
  • $48k–$75k12%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k18%
$30k–$48k11%
$48k–$75k12%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,325 people who studied at Tulane University of Louisiana, most often in science & academia (34%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 34% (776 people); medicine 3.5% (80 people); law 6.1% (140 people); politics & gov 7.4% (168 people); business 3.5% (81 people); engineering & tech 1.1% (24 people); writing & journalism 5.1% (117 people); film & stage 3.3% (76 people); music 1.5% (35 people); visual arts 3.4% (77 people); sports 29% (662 people); religion 0.4% (10 people); military 1.6% (36 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia77634.0%
medicine803.5%
law1406.1%
politics & gov1687.4%
business813.5%
engineering & tech241.1%
writing & journalism1175.1%
film & stage763.3%
music351.5%
visual arts773.4%
sports66229.0%
religion100.4%
military361.6%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsbasketball player (507) · researcher (498) · politician (154) · university teacher (140) · lawyer (135) · American football player (98) · physician (61) · writer (60)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 11% for the 1870s to 29% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 6 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1810snot reported1not reported
1820snot reported2not reported
1830snot reported12not reported
1840snot reported4not reported
1850snot reported4not reported
1860snot reported11not reported
1870s32511%
1880s31914%
1890s32113%
1900s75012%
1910s63814%
1920s1210410%
1930s1210310%
1940s2511618%
1950s309923%
1960s238621%
1970s205128%
1980s136118%
1990s255830%
2000s71729%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 79,525 in 2023-01.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0613,041
2026-0515,711
2026-0415,358
2026-0315,235
2026-0213,614
2026-0117,319
2025-1251,858
2025-1124,820
2025-1024,117
2025-0923,882
2025-0822,394
2025-0717,413
2025-0614,681
2025-0518,649
2025-0417,590
2025-0332,997
2025-0219,821
2025-0127,237
2024-1236,212
2024-1130,597
2024-1024,149
2024-0935,400
2024-0824,184
2024-0721,051
2024-0618,036
2024-0521,771
2024-0421,814
2024-0323,095
2024-0222,514
2024-0127,701
2023-1240,376
2023-1134,780
2023-1038,413
2023-0936,812
2023-0826,473
2023-0721,061
2023-0620,656
2023-0523,546
2023-0432,118
2023-0324,615
2023-0221,914
2023-0179,525
2022-1241,311
2022-1140,030
2022-1030,721
2022-0925,791
2022-0822,889
2022-0720,032
2022-0619,059
2022-0519,378
2022-0420,833
2022-0322,845
2022-0219,008
2022-0120,728
2021-1220,247
2021-1121,905
2021-1025,498
2021-0936,365
2021-0826,481
2021-0721,169
2021-0619,148
2021-0521,041
2021-0425,464
2021-0324,875
2021-0221,113
2021-0131,316
2020-1225,425
2020-1134,030
2020-1026,618
2020-0923,275
2020-0821,135
2020-0718,706
2020-0618,957
2020-0525,610
2020-0427,790
2020-0323,030
2020-0220,900
2020-0138,482
2019-1232,282
2019-1133,192
2019-1033,214
2019-0949,502
2019-0828,099
2019-0724,962
2019-0622,521
2019-0529,294
2019-0426,644
2019-0329,898
2019-0224,200
2019-0130,239
2018-1232,733
2018-1135,722
2018-1032,767
2018-0954,395
2018-0833,035
2018-0728,749
2018-0622,367
2018-0522,556
2018-0424,774
2018-0325,428
2018-0220,458
2018-0124,884
2017-1224,215
2017-1124,635
2017-1026,411
2017-0929,266
2017-0825,574
2017-0721,820
2017-0624,106
2017-0526,373
2017-0425,912
2017-0327,210
2017-0224,953
2017-0124,535
2016-1224,462
2016-1129,221
2016-1025,344
2016-0924,281
2016-0821,840
2016-0720,413
2016-0617,809
2016-0521,629
2016-0421,094
2016-0324,050
2016-0222,408
2016-0123,474
2015-1225,000
2015-1127,505
2015-1026,947
2015-0924,874
2015-0822,929
2015-0718,620

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1362660670), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.