Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Atlanta, GA

Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $7,666 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $28,167.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $102,772 ten years after entering, above the 99th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 94% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1885
Enrollment, 2023
53,737
Website
gatech.edu
Campus of Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

User:TheCustomOfLife · Public domain

AboutPublic university in Atlanta, Georgia, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The Georgia Institute of Technology is a public research university and institute of technology in Atlanta, Georgia, United States. Established in 1885, it has the largest student enrollment of the University System of Georgia, with satellite campuses in Savannah, Georgia, and Metz, France.

From the Wikipedia article “Georgia Tech”, revision 1364380805, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $28,167 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $7,209 and $17,396 a year depending on income at Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus.

Statement of cost · Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$28,167
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$7,666
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,116
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$12,058

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $7,666; $30–48k: $7,209; $48–75k: $10,818; $75–110k: $15,088; over $110k: $17,396. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$7,666
$30k–$48k$7,209
$48k–$75k$10,818
$75k–$110k$15,088
Over $110k$17,396

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $102,772; the median graduate who borrowed owes $21,672.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$89,432
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$94,647
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
above the 99th percentile among public 4-years
$102,772
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
70th percentile among public 4-years
$21,672
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$20,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $89,432; 8 yrs after entry: $94,647; 10 yrs after entry: $102,772. Median graduate debt: $21,672. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $21,672.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$89,432
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$94,647
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$102,772
Median graduate debt$21,672

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree2,731$191,919not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree1,456not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree1,070$155,126$21,125
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree437$98,607$27,000
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree357$147,708not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree351$96,355$23,000
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree346$118,425$21,750
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementMaster's Degree285not reportednot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree266$102,958$22,750
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree232$116,793not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree224$101,967$22,750
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree213$122,569not reported
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree190$149,706not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree170$101,692$27,000
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree157$131,153$25,399
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree145$109,110$27,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree121$66,658$25,375
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree112not reportednot reported
Applied MathematicsMaster's Degree108not reportednot reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree107$125,345not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree71$170,061not reported
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree32not reportednot reported
ChemistryDoctoral Degree27not reportednot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringDoctoral Degree37not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus: 18,785 undergraduates; 14% of students receive Pell grants; 14% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

14%

1st percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

18,785

86th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

14%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

5th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

94%

finish within 150% of normal time

above the 99th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

15%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$71,161

92nd percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k19%
  • $30k–$48k13%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k19%
$30k–$48k13%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 3,936 people who studied at Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus, most often in science & academia (53%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 53% (1,677 people); medicine 0.5% (15 people); law 0.4% (14 people); politics & gov 1.9% (61 people); business 2.8% (89 people); engineering & tech 11% (337 people); writing & journalism 1.2% (39 people); film & stage 0.8% (24 people); music 0.3% (10 people); visual arts 1.8% (56 people); sports 25% (798 people); religion 0.0% (1 people); military 2.1% (66 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,67752.6%
medicine150.5%
law140.4%
politics & gov611.9%
business892.8%
engineering & tech33710.6%
writing & journalism391.2%
film & stage240.8%
music100.3%
visual arts561.8%
sports79825.0%
religion10.0%
military662.1%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,339) · basketball player (499) · university teacher (232) · American football player (186) · computer scientist (127) · engineer (102) · politician (56) · baseball player (55)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 4% for the 1900s to 46% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 7 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1860snot reported2not reported
1870snot reported3not reported
1880snot reported18not reported
1890snot reported46not reported
1900s2434%
1910snot reported28not reported
1920snot reported66not reported
1930snot reported89not reported
1940s3853%
1950s1610313%
1960s1910116%
1970s9978%
1980s299623%
1990s297528%
2000s182146%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 30,654 in 2024-11.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0611,125
2026-0512,837
2026-0413,248
2026-0312,525
2026-0211,158
2026-0113,686
2025-1215,525
2025-1119,857
2025-1019,823
2025-0923,308
2025-0819,242
2025-0713,758
2025-0615,207
2025-0515,546
2025-0417,277
2025-0318,145
2025-0219,435
2025-0118,517
2024-1221,993
2024-1130,654
2024-1020,972
2024-0923,494
2024-0827,271
2024-0716,374
2024-0614,678
2024-0521,365
2024-0419,437
2024-0321,558
2024-0219,756
2024-0126,197
2023-1224,411
2023-1124,054
2023-1023,015
2023-0926,479
2023-0824,293
2023-0723,384
2023-0618,795
2023-0521,791
2023-0422,170
2023-0324,386
2023-0219,305
2023-0121,804
2022-1219,734
2022-1123,311
2022-1024,377
2022-0929,672
2022-0823,270
2022-0721,738
2022-0617,170
2022-0519,052
2022-0421,648
2022-0320,326
2022-0218,034
2022-0122,479
2021-1221,294
2021-1121,860
2021-1022,847
2021-0923,927
2021-0822,056
2021-0720,243
2021-0614,224
2021-0516,581
2021-0418,267
2021-0321,791
2021-0214,557
2021-0118,396
2020-1218,136
2020-1118,086
2020-1020,223
2020-0917,327
2020-0815,911
2020-0714,507
2020-0613,742
2020-0518,482
2020-0418,973
2020-0316,776
2020-0216,295
2020-0121,376
2019-1221,327
2019-1122,622
2019-1022,520
2019-0917,708
2019-081,337
2019-071,004
2019-06923
2019-05922
2019-041,132
2019-03934
2019-02889
2019-011,132
2018-121,469
2018-11988
2018-101,040
2018-09949
2018-08973
2018-07957
2018-06813
2018-05793
2018-04941
2018-03953
2018-02733
2018-011,004
2017-12899
2017-111,100
2017-101,091
2017-091,557
2017-081,127
2017-07919
2017-06902
2017-051,035
2017-041,608
2017-031,047
2017-02909
2017-011,072
2016-121,304
2016-111,322
2016-101,438
2016-091,291
2016-089,325
2016-071,216
2016-061,309
2016-051,321
2016-041,435
2016-031,643
2016-021,481
2016-011,743
2015-121,158
2015-111,724
2015-101,800
2015-092,082
2015-081,536
2015-071,450

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Kary Mullis Chemistry 1993
  • Jimmy Carter Peace 2002

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1364380805), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.