Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Topeka, KS

Washburn University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $20,310 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $21,512.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $49,774 ten years after entering, the 49th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 53% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
6,302

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $21,512 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $9,693 and $20,310 a year depending on income at Washburn University.

Statement of cost · Washburn University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$21,512
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$20,310
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,280
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$9,945

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $20,310; $30–48k: $9,693; $48–75k: $10,758; $75–110k: $13,922; over $110k: $15,472. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$20,310
$30k–$48k$9,693
$48k–$75k$10,758
$75k–$110k$13,922
Over $110k$15,472

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $49,774; the median graduate who borrowed owes $18,127.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$42,881
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$45,837
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
49th percentile among public 4-years
$49,774
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
39th percentile among public 4-years
$18,127
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $42,881; 8 yrs after entry: $45,837; 10 yrs after entry: $49,774. Median graduate debt: $18,127. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $18,127.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$42,881
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$45,837
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$49,774
Median graduate debt$18,127

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Washburn University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree141$74,200$25,250
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree110not reported$19,750
LawFirst Professional Degree92$75,098not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma78$67,914$18,750
Social WorkMaster's Degree52$57,557not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree46$49,261$21,875
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree45$53,065$26,500
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree44$44,367$25,249
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree39$65,456$22,500
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree39$67,917$21,136
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsGraduate/Professional Certificate36not reportednot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree34$50,195$22,566
Show all 22 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social WorkBachelor's Degree33$47,831$24,623
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree32not reportednot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree29$48,649$27,717
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingGraduate/Professional Certificate27not reportednot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree26$61,715$27,000
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree25not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree25$64,538$22,748
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree21$49,044$20,822
Engineering-Related FieldsBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree18$60,821$25,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Washburn University: 4,562 undergraduates; 34% of students receive Pell grants.

Admission rate

not reported

Undergraduates

4,562

48th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

34%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

55th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

53%

finish within 150% of normal time

65th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

38%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$36,446

56th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k25%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110k22%
  • Over $110k17%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k25%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110k22%
Over $110k17%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.