Statement · Princeton, NJ
Princeton University
Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $41 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $84,040.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $110,066 ten years after entering, the 99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.
98% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1746
- Enrollment, 2023
- 8,946
- Website
- princeton.edu
- Motto
- “Dei Sub Numine Viget”

AboutPrivate university in Princeton, New Jersey, US. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
Princeton University is a private Ivy League research university in Princeton, New Jersey, United States. Founded in 1746 in Elizabeth as the College of New Jersey, Princeton is the fourth-oldest institution of higher education in the United States and one of the nine colonial colleges chartered before the American Revolution. The institution moved to Newark in 1747 and then to its Mercer County campus in Princeton nine years later. It officially became a university in 1896 and was subsequently renamed Princeton University.
From the Wikipedia article “Princeton University”, revision 1364252051, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $84,040 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $41 and $36,094 a year depending on income at Princeton University.
Statement of cost · Princeton University
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $84,040
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $41
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $6,128
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $62,688
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $41 |
| $30k–$48k | $352 |
| $48k–$75k | $1,217 |
| $75k–$110k | $4,478 |
| Over $110k | $36,094 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $110,066; the median graduate who borrowed owes $10,320.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $87,815
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $112,152
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $110,066
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
3rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $10,320
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $10,000
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.
- Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $10,320.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $87,815 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $112,152 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $110,066 |
| Median graduate debt | $10,320 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 201 | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 132 | not reported | $11,250 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Bachelor's Degree | 114 | $98,995 | $10,527 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Master's Degree | 100 | $112,516 | not reported |
| Operations Research | Bachelor's Degree | 77 | not reported | not reported |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | 72 | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 57 | $94,020 | not reported |
| Computer Science | Master's Degree | 54 | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Bachelor's Degree | 52 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Master's Degree | 50 | not reported | not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | 50 | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 45 | not reported | not reported |
Show all 22 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | 40 | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 38 | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Bachelor's Degree | 37 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 36 | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | Doctoral Degree | 35 | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | 34 | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | 34 | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | Master's Degree | 32 | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | $243,825 | not reported |
| History | Doctoral Degree | 26 | not reported | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Princeton University: 5,709 undergraduates; 19% of students receive Pell grants; 5% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
5%
1st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Undergraduates
5,709
94th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Pell share
19%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
19th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Completion
98%
finish within 150% of normal time
98th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
First-generation
28%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$37,036
38th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
not reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | not reported |
| $30k–$48k | not reported |
| $48k–$75k | not reported |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price fell from $8,136 in 2009 to $6,128 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,593 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,600 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,624 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,556 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 12% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,613 |
| 2002 | 12% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,635 |
| 2003 | 10% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,676 |
| 2004 | 13% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,678 |
| 2005 | 11% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,719 |
| 2006 | 10% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,775 |
| 2007 | 10% | not reported | not reported | $80,900 | 4,833 |
| 2008 | 10% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 4,878 |
| 2009 | 10% | $49,830 | $8,136 | $74,400 | 5,029 |
| 2010 | 9% | $51,260 | $9,214 | not reported | 5,142 |
| 2011 | 8% | $52,715 | $10,326 | $75,100 | 5,160 |
| 2012 | 8% | $53,934 | $12,860 | $77,900 | 5,255 |
| 2013 | 7% | $55,430 | $8,413 | $80,500 | 5,234 |
| 2014 | 7% | $57,400 | $7,103 | $74,700 | 5,258 |
| 2015 | 7% | $59,665 | $8,848 | not reported | 5,260 |
| 2016 | 7% | $61,860 | $10,256 | not reported | 5,236 |
| 2017 | 6% | $64,390 | $10,027 | not reported | 5,246 |
| 2018 | 5% | $66,950 | $9,749 | not reported | 5,301 |
| 2019 | 6% | $70,900 | $11,317 | not reported | 5,308 |
| 2020 | 6% | $74,150 | $9,836 | $110,066 | 4,688 |
| 2021 | 4% | $68,044 | $11,080 | not reported | 5,236 |
| 2022 | 6% | $78,490 | $8,143 | not reported | 5,527 |
| 2023 | 5% | $80,440 | $10,555 | not reported | 5,579 |
| 2024 | 5% | $84,040 | $6,128 | not reported | 5,709 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 11,262 people who studied at Princeton University, most often in science & academia (50%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 5,757 | 50.1% |
| medicine | 172 | 1.5% |
| law | 764 | 6.7% |
| politics & gov | 930 | 8.1% |
| business | 470 | 4.1% |
| engineering & tech | 463 | 4.0% |
| writing & journalism | 1,033 | 9.0% |
| film & stage | 232 | 2.0% |
| music | 190 | 1.7% |
| visual arts | 202 | 1.8% |
| sports | 971 | 8.5% |
| religion | 133 | 1.2% |
| military | 173 | 1.5% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,971) · university teacher (1,904) · politician (730) · mathematician (716) · lawyer (688) · writer (555) · basketball player (533) · physicist (419)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1710s | not reported | 2 | not reported |
| 1720s | not reported | 3 | not reported |
| 1730s | not reported | 20 | not reported |
| 1740s | not reported | 46 | not reported |
| 1750s | not reported | 40 | not reported |
| 1760s | not reported | 36 | not reported |
| 1770s | not reported | 46 | not reported |
| 1780s | not reported | 57 | not reported |
| 1790s | not reported | 59 | not reported |
| 1800s | not reported | 41 | not reported |
| 1810s | not reported | 46 | not reported |
| 1820s | not reported | 47 | not reported |
| 1830s | not reported | 36 | not reported |
| 1840s | not reported | 34 | not reported |
| 1850s | not reported | 81 | not reported |
| 1860s | not reported | 118 | not reported |
| 1870s | 2 | 142 | 1% |
| 1880s | 1 | 161 | 1% |
| 1890s | not reported | 209 | not reported |
| 1900s | 9 | 300 | 3% |
| 1910s | not reported | 372 | not reported |
| 1920s | 3 | 481 | 1% |
| 1930s | 6 | 682 | 1% |
| 1940s | 55 | 744 | 7% |
| 1950s | 193 | 626 | 24% |
| 1960s | 204 | 507 | 29% |
| 1970s | 170 | 339 | 33% |
| 1980s | 88 | 179 | 33% |
| 1990s | 60 | 87 | 41% |
| 2000s | 45 | 61 | 42% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 48,359 |
| 2026-05 | 57,075 |
| 2026-04 | 57,495 |
| 2026-03 | 57,469 |
| 2026-02 | 49,441 |
| 2026-01 | 57,464 |
| 2025-12 | 60,394 |
| 2025-11 | 60,056 |
| 2025-10 | 69,968 |
| 2025-09 | 64,054 |
| 2025-08 | 63,887 |
| 2025-07 | 58,095 |
| 2025-06 | 63,585 |
| 2025-05 | 70,074 |
| 2025-04 | 76,415 |
| 2025-03 | 76,966 |
| 2025-02 | 64,457 |
| 2025-01 | 83,227 |
| 2024-12 | 77,050 |
| 2024-11 | 87,698 |
| 2024-10 | 85,927 |
| 2024-09 | 84,785 |
| 2024-08 | 71,061 |
| 2024-07 | 63,732 |
| 2024-06 | 61,604 |
| 2024-05 | 78,543 |
| 2024-04 | 89,509 |
| 2024-03 | 84,049 |
| 2024-02 | 78,777 |
| 2024-01 | 97,881 |
| 2023-12 | 88,660 |
| 2023-11 | 84,896 |
| 2023-10 | 88,179 |
| 2023-09 | 83,369 |
| 2023-08 | 93,235 |
| 2023-07 | 95,416 |
| 2023-06 | 107,999 |
| 2023-05 | 78,930 |
| 2023-04 | 85,591 |
| 2023-03 | 127,350 |
| 2023-02 | 72,633 |
| 2023-01 | 80,494 |
| 2022-12 | 72,865 |
| 2022-11 | 76,855 |
| 2022-10 | 84,846 |
| 2022-09 | 83,891 |
| 2022-08 | 100,266 |
| 2022-07 | 106,577 |
| 2022-06 | 72,610 |
| 2022-05 | 78,212 |
| 2022-04 | 81,303 |
| 2022-03 | 76,449 |
| 2022-02 | 73,507 |
| 2022-01 | 82,362 |
| 2021-12 | 79,116 |
| 2021-11 | 73,768 |
| 2021-10 | 85,116 |
| 2021-09 | 78,879 |
| 2021-08 | 79,165 |
| 2021-07 | 86,848 |
| 2021-06 | 63,929 |
| 2021-05 | 69,472 |
| 2021-04 | 81,738 |
| 2021-03 | 77,811 |
| 2021-02 | 74,349 |
| 2021-01 | 92,333 |
| 2020-12 | 91,788 |
| 2020-11 | 91,390 |
| 2020-10 | 85,458 |
| 2020-09 | 74,533 |
| 2020-08 | 78,502 |
| 2020-07 | 88,825 |
| 2020-06 | 88,662 |
| 2020-05 | 108,566 |
| 2020-04 | 101,229 |
| 2020-03 | 83,433 |
| 2020-02 | 78,985 |
| 2020-01 | 86,733 |
| 2019-12 | 87,607 |
| 2019-11 | 89,683 |
| 2019-10 | 91,844 |
| 2019-09 | 81,577 |
| 2019-08 | 80,530 |
| 2019-07 | 76,418 |
| 2019-06 | 70,406 |
| 2019-05 | 75,590 |
| 2019-04 | 80,130 |
| 2019-03 | 88,819 |
| 2019-02 | 77,292 |
| 2019-01 | 95,276 |
| 2018-12 | 88,097 |
| 2018-11 | 88,447 |
| 2018-10 | 89,120 |
| 2018-09 | 88,268 |
| 2018-08 | 85,683 |
| 2018-07 | 78,363 |
| 2018-06 | 69,847 |
| 2018-05 | 77,180 |
| 2018-04 | 82,915 |
| 2018-03 | 86,752 |
| 2018-02 | 71,248 |
| 2018-01 | 84,000 |
| 2017-12 | 70,553 |
| 2017-11 | 75,468 |
| 2017-10 | 77,760 |
| 2017-09 | 70,497 |
| 2017-08 | 71,243 |
| 2017-07 | 74,511 |
| 2017-06 | 70,734 |
| 2017-05 | 86,985 |
| 2017-04 | 84,566 |
| 2017-03 | 91,586 |
| 2017-02 | 82,115 |
| 2017-01 | 96,618 |
| 2016-12 | 84,417 |
| 2016-11 | 93,820 |
| 2016-10 | 95,131 |
| 2016-09 | 88,538 |
| 2016-08 | 78,758 |
| 2016-07 | 77,103 |
| 2016-06 | 73,974 |
| 2016-05 | 86,597 |
| 2016-04 | 92,299 |
| 2016-03 | 93,541 |
| 2016-02 | 86,282 |
| 2016-01 | 86,059 |
| 2015-12 | 76,735 |
| 2015-11 | 80,738 |
| 2015-10 | 86,497 |
| 2015-09 | 77,925 |
| 2015-08 | 100,423 |
| 2015-07 | 70,587 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- Woodrow Wilson Peace 1919
- Arthur Holly Compton Physics 1927
- Eugene O'Neill Literature 1936
- Clinton Davisson Physics 1937
- Edwin McMillan Chemistry 1951
- John Bardeen Physics 1956
Show all 28
- Willard Libby Chemistry 1960
- Robert Hofstadter Physics 1961
- name not resolved Physics 1965
- John Bardeen Physics 1972
- Steven Weinberg Physics 1979
- Gary S. Becker Economics 1992
- John Forbes Nash Economics 1994
- Richard Smalley Chemistry 1996
- James Heckman Economics 2000
- Michael Spence Economics 2001
- Frank Wilczek Physics 2004
- Edward C. Prescott Economics 2004
- Yoichiro Nambu Physics 2008
- Lloyd Shapley Economics 2012
- Oliver Hart Economics 2016
- Kip S. Thorne Physics 2017
- Frances Arnold Chemistry 2018
- Jim Peebles Physics 2019
- David Card Economics 2021
- Joshua Angrist Economics 2021
- Maria Ressa Peace 2021
- Mary E. Brunkow Medicine 2025
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- John F. Kennedy
Cecil W. Stoughton · Public domain
- Alan Turing
Elliott & Fry · Public domain
- Woodrow Wilson
Harris & Ewing · Public domain
- James Madison
John Vanderlyn · Public domain
- Grover Cleveland
Unknown authorUnknown author or not provided · Public domain
- Michelle Obama
Lawrence Jackson · Public domain
- F. Scott Fitzgerald
Nickolas Muray · Public domain
Show all 15 portraits
- Eugene O'Neill
Nobel Foundation · Public domain
- John Bardeen
Nobel foundation · Public domain
- Donald Rumsfeld
Scott Davis, U.S. Army · Public domain
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1364252051), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.

