Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Northampton, MA

Smith College

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $1,363 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $86,030.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,027 ten years after entering, the 77th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 89% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
3,192

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $86,030 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $1,363 and $40,477 a year depending on income at Smith College.

Statement of cost · Smith College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$86,030
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$1,363
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$27,579
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$65,178

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $1,363; $30–48k: $3,737; $48–75k: $6,559; $75–110k: $11,750; over $110k: $40,477. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$1,363
$30k–$48k$3,737
$48k–$75k$6,559
$75k–$110k$11,750
Over $110k$40,477

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,027; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,550.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$45,731
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$57,322
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
77th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$64,027
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
14th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$17,550
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$13,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $45,731; 8 yrs after entry: $57,322; 10 yrs after entry: $64,027. Median graduate debt: $17,550. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,550.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$45,731
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$57,322
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,027
Median graduate debt$17,550

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Smith College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social WorkMaster's Degree108$69,652not reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree80$62,558$19,000
Data ScienceBachelor's Degree62not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree60$63,650$19,000
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree45$53,422$19,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree45$48,329$19,000
EconomicsBachelor's Degree45$74,557$19,000
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree41not reported$19,000
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesBachelor's Degree39$49,924$19,000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree32$52,652$19,000
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree32$38,376$19,000
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesBachelor's Degree31not reported$19,000
Show all 23 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
SociologyBachelor's Degree29$48,634$19,000
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree28$53,517$19,000
Engineering ScienceBachelor's Degree25not reportednot reported
Area StudiesBachelor's Degree24$51,070$19,000
MathematicsBachelor's Degree23$56,480$18,181
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree21$42,367$18,820
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree20not reportednot reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree20$58,527$19,000
Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree5$90,266$19,000
Education, GeneralMaster's Degreenot reported$58,982not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree12not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Smith College: 2,544 undergraduates; 18% of students receive Pell grants; 21% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

21%

6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

2,544

82nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

18%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

16th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

89%

finish within 150% of normal time

93rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

19%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$70,695

82nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k21%
  • $30k–$48knot reported
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k21%
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.