Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Providence, RI

Rhode Island School of Design

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $29,135 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $81,727.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $68,140 ten years after entering, the 82nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 89% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,706

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $81,727 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $25,872 and $64,493 a year depending on income at Rhode Island School of Design.

Statement of cost · Rhode Island School of Design

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$81,727
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$29,135
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$50,507
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$62,688

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $29,135; $30–48k: $30,233; $48–75k: $25,872; $75–110k: $33,893; over $110k: $64,493. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$29,135
$30k–$48k$30,233
$48k–$75k$25,872
$75k–$110k$33,893
Over $110k$64,493

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $68,140; the median graduate who borrowed owes $27,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$45,932
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$58,975
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
82nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$68,140
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$27,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$23,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $45,932; 8 yrs after entry: $58,975; 10 yrs after entry: $68,140. Median graduate debt: $27,000. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $27,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$45,932
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$58,975
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$68,140
Median graduate debt$27,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Rhode Island School of Design
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree143$42,001$27,000
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree110not reportednot reported
Systems Science and TheoryBachelor's Degree92not reported$26,748
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree91$68,157$27,000
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsBachelor's Degree78not reportednot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsMaster's Degree50$44,141not reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyBachelor's Degree48not reportednot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree44$51,503$27,000
WoodworkingBachelor's Degree29$46,712$26,912
Sustainability StudiesMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Apparel and TextilesBachelor's Degree22not reported$27,000
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationMaster's Degree16not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree15not reportednot reported
Systems Science and TheoryMaster's Degree14not reportednot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsMaster's Degree10not reportednot reported
WoodworkingMaster's Degree8not reportednot reported
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and AnalysisMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
ArchitectureBachelor's Degreenot reported$69,048not reported
Design and Applied ArtsMaster's Degreenot reported$87,069not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Rhode Island School of Design: 2,084 undergraduates; 15% of students receive Pell grants; 19% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

19%

6th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

2,084

76th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

15%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

11th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

89%

finish within 150% of normal time

93rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

11%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$81,184

89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.