Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Big Rapids, MI

Ferris State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $2,556 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $27,048.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $54,735 ten years after entering, the 62nd percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 47% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
12,162

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $27,048 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $2,556 and $18,603 a year depending on income at Ferris State University.

Statement of cost · Ferris State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$27,048
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$2,556
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$8,624
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$14,778

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $2,556; $30–48k: $4,315; $48–75k: $7,638; $75–110k: $12,485; over $110k: $18,603. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$2,556
$30k–$48k$4,315
$48k–$75k$7,638
$75k–$110k$12,485
Over $110k$18,603

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $54,735; the median graduate who borrowed owes $21,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$47,339
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$52,215
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
62nd percentile among public 4-years
$54,735
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
63rd percentile among public 4-years
$21,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $47,339; 8 yrs after entry: $52,215; 10 yrs after entry: $54,735. Median graduate debt: $21,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $21,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$47,339
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$52,215
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$54,735
Median graduate debt$21,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Ferris State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree171$64,813$25,384
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree164$58,694$25,260
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree123$144,201not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree97$81,858$27,000
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree86$90,928$24,250
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree84$86,204$27,000
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree83$43,252$27,000
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree62$49,604$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree62$49,092$30,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree62$43,033$29,852
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree58$62,783$18,500
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree57$70,852$26,000
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma54$87,388$22,750
Social WorkBachelor's Degree54$46,935$27,500
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree54$56,054$29,518
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree51$54,524$24,970
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree51$92,831$20,750
Precision Metal WorkingAssociate's Degree50$82,902$17,500
Manufacturing EngineeringBachelor's Degree43$77,154$18,500
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherAssociate's Degree43not reported$17,930
OptometryFirst Professional Degree38$114,922not reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree35not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree38not reportednot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree30$80,089$27,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsGraduate/Professional Certificate17$101,789not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma41not reported$27,024

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Ferris State University: 8,106 undergraduates; 34% of students receive Pell grants; 91% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

91%

74th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

8,106

66th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

34%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

57th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

47%

finish within 150% of normal time

52nd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

35%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$41,669

63rd percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k28%
  • $30k–$48k16%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110k19%
  • Over $110k19%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k28%
$30k–$48k16%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110k19%
Over $110k19%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.