Statement · Allendale, MI
Grand Valley State University
Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $12,272 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $28,367.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $56,118 ten years after entering, the 65th percentile among public 4-years.
67% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Enrollment, 2023
- 24,603
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $28,367 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $11,902 and $22,534 a year depending on income at Grand Valley State University.
Statement of cost · Grand Valley State University
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $28,367
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $12,272
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $16,317
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $15,140
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $12,272 |
| $30k–$48k | $11,902 |
| $48k–$75k | $12,861 |
| $75k–$110k | $16,609 |
| Over $110k | $22,534 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $56,118; the median graduate who borrowed owes $24,500.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $47,840
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $51,712
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
65th percentile among public 4-years - $56,118
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
87th percentile among public 4-years - $24,500
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $19,500
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.
- Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $24,500.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $47,840 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $51,712 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $56,118 |
| Median graduate debt | $24,500 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 282 | $52,780 | $26,748 |
| Psychology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 276 | $50,042 | $25,187 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | 269 | $69,915 | $25,000 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | 239 | $72,866 | $27,000 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | Bachelor's Degree | 239 | $74,838 | $24,199 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Bachelor's Degree | 235 | not reported | $26,300 |
| Education, General | Bachelor's Degree | 224 | $48,711 | $29,364 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | Bachelor's Degree | 183 | $60,572 | $26,262 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | Bachelor's Degree | 140 | $55,205 | $26,377 |
| Social Work | Master's Degree | 128 | $58,895 | not reported |
| Accounting and Related Services | Bachelor's Degree | 123 | $73,018 | $23,750 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | Bachelor's Degree | 121 | $60,671 | $26,000 |
Show all 29 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | 121 | $50,014 | $27,000 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Bachelor's Degree | 120 | $66,492 | $26,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | 114 | $95,198 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 113 | $83,452 | $27,000 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Bachelor's Degree | 112 | $51,809 | $30,750 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Bachelor's Degree | 91 | $46,296 | $24,158 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Bachelor's Degree | 82 | $47,325 | $28,570 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Bachelor's Degree | 80 | $53,130 | $31,000 |
| Business/Commerce, General | Master's Degree | 45 | $112,479 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Master's Degree | 77 | $123,503 | not reported |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | First Professional Degree | 27 | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Master's Degree | 30 | $85,684 | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 23 | not reported | $26,676 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 19 | not reported | $29,172 |
| Manufacturing Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 18 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 57 | $85,738 | $28,000 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Master's Degree | 56 | $93,720 | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Grand Valley State University: 18,854 undergraduates; 29% of students receive Pell grants; 83% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
83%
50th percentile among public 4-years
Undergraduates
18,854
86th percentile among public 4-years
Pell share
29%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
41st percentile among public 4-years
Completion
67%
finish within 150% of normal time
86th percentile among public 4-years
First-generation
27%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$63,788
87th percentile among public 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k18%
- $30k–$48k14%
- $48k–$75k18%
- $75k–$110k20%
- Over $110k30%
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 18% |
| $30k–$48k | 14% |
| $48k–$75k | 18% |
| $75k–$110k | 20% |
| Over $110k | 30% |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $14,818 in 2009 to $16,317 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 11,313 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 12,182 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,103 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 13,820 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 83% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 15,969 |
| 2002 | 52% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 16,499 |
| 2003 | 73% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 17,425 |
| 2004 | 77% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,160 |
| 2005 | 76% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,715 |
| 2006 | 72% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,388 |
| 2007 | 69% | not reported | not reported | $41,600 | 19,643 |
| 2008 | 78% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 20,285 |
| 2009 | 81% | $18,113 | $14,818 | $41,800 | 20,733 |
| 2010 | 81% | $19,053 | $14,408 | not reported | 20,818 |
| 2011 | 83% | $19,873 | $14,811 | $39,100 | 21,124 |
| 2012 | 82% | $20,710 | $15,855 | $39,400 | 21,227 |
| 2013 | 83% | $21,512 | $16,243 | $41,000 | 21,137 |
| 2014 | 80% | $21,907 | $16,815 | $42,800 | 21,561 |
| 2015 | 81% | $21,541 | $16,491 | not reported | 21,889 |
| 2016 | 82% | $21,534 | $16,496 | not reported | 22,081 |
| 2017 | 81% | $22,276 | $16,975 | not reported | 21,837 |
| 2018 | 83% | $23,418 | $18,019 | not reported | 21,589 |
| 2019 | 83% | $24,075 | $17,646 | not reported | 21,019 |
| 2020 | 88% | $24,280 | $17,356 | $56,118 | 20,265 |
| 2021 | 92% | $24,861 | $17,210 | not reported | 19,239 |
| 2022 | 90% | $25,379 | $15,545 | not reported | 18,487 |
| 2023 | 95% | $26,578 | $17,096 | not reported | 19,073 |
| 2024 | 83% | $28,367 | $16,317 | not reported | 18,854 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.