Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Minneapolis, MN

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $6,642 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $30,061.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $69,020 ten years after entering, the 90th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 85% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1851
Enrollment, 2023
59,150
Motto
“Commune vinculum omnibus artibus”
Campus of University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Ben Franske · CC BY-SA 4.0

AboutPublic university in Minnesota, U.S.. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Minnesota Twin Cities is a public land-grant research university in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States. It is the flagship institution of the University of Minnesota System and is organized into 19 colleges, schools, and other major academic units.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Minnesota”, revision 1361408724, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $30,061 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $6,642 and $27,008 a year depending on income at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.

Statement of cost · University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$30,061
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$6,642
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$16,778
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$17,214

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $6,642; $30–48k: $7,283; $48–75k: $9,931; $75–110k: $16,415; over $110k: $27,008. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$6,642
$30k–$48k$7,283
$48k–$75k$9,931
$75k–$110k$16,415
Over $110k$27,008

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $69,020; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$57,984
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$63,477
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
90th percentile among public 4-years
$69,020
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
49th percentile among public 4-years
$19,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$16,727

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $57,984; 8 yrs after entry: $63,477; 10 yrs after entry: $69,020. Median graduate debt: $19,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$57,984
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$63,477
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$69,020
Median graduate debt$19,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree612$111,199$19,500
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree531$57,656$20,674
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree455$66,786$20,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree424$152,698not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree339$102,887$21,500
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree332$70,348$21,218
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree310$68,815$22,500
EconomicsBachelor's Degree256$83,564$21,500
MarketingBachelor's Degree239$90,462$22,750
MedicineFirst Professional Degree220$205,382not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree208$60,465not reported
Education, OtherBachelor's Degree206$70,349$19,625
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
LawFirst Professional Degree205$108,654not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree201$63,560$20,465
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree197not reportednot reported
Data AnalyticsMaster's Degree194not reportednot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree187$95,566$22,077
Public HealthMaster's Degree171$138,364not reported
Computer Systems AnalysisBachelor's Degree161$110,382$20,041
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree153$142,577not reported
DentistryFirst Professional Degree124$166,279not reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree12not reportednot reported
Engineering, OtherMaster's Degree21not reportednot reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyMaster's Degree44not reportednot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree53not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree4not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities: 31,855 undergraduates; 18% of students receive Pell grants; 80% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

80%

43rd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

31,855

95th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

18%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

11th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

85%

finish within 150% of normal time

97th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

19%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$76,029

94th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k16%
  • $30k–$48k11%
  • $48k–$75k15%
  • $75k–$110k19%
  • Over $110k39%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k16%
$30k–$48k11%
$48k–$75k15%
$75k–$110k19%
Over $110k39%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 7,784 people who studied at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, most often in science & academia (49%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 49% (3,182 people); medicine 2.3% (151 people); law 1.7% (108 people); politics & gov 7.6% (493 people); business 2.2% (143 people); engineering & tech 4.2% (273 people); writing & journalism 6.8% (444 people); film & stage 2.1% (138 people); music 1.8% (114 people); visual arts 2.5% (166 people); sports 18% (1,176 people); religion 0.5% (33 people); military 1.4% (88 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia3,18248.9%
medicine1512.3%
law1081.7%
politics & gov4937.6%
business1432.2%
engineering & tech2734.2%
writing & journalism4446.8%
film & stage1382.1%
music1141.8%
visual arts1662.5%
sports1,17618.1%
religion330.5%
military881.4%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,376) · university teacher (821) · basketball player (573) · politician (459) · economist (316) · American football player (260) · writer (212) · ice hockey player (203)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 23% for the 1850s to 35% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 1 decade is marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1820snot reported1not reported
1850s31023%
1860s72224%
1870s164725%
1880s137115%
1890s2812019%
1900s4920020%
1910s4028212%
1920s4636111%
1930s5137812%
1940s9236520%
1950s10838122%
1960s7823025%
1970s5314327%
1980s6212932%
1990s709642%
2000s213935%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 52,251 in 2019-11.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0617,309
2026-0515,742
2026-0414,778
2026-0315,573
2026-0215,145
2026-0121,621
2025-1219,331
2025-1120,188
2025-1021,051
2025-0920,890
2025-0818,884
2025-0715,855
2025-0616,482
2025-0518,085
2025-0418,364
2025-0324,595
2025-0218,723
2025-0124,743
2024-1221,427
2024-1123,175
2024-1022,781
2024-0922,549
2024-0823,375
2024-0718,457
2024-0616,745
2024-0520,274
2024-0421,057
2024-0323,840
2024-0222,903
2024-0128,475
2023-1223,349
2023-1124,591
2023-1026,639
2023-0925,423
2023-0824,143
2023-0722,675
2023-0619,816
2023-0522,023
2023-0425,705
2023-0325,537
2023-0221,273
2023-0124,953
2022-1222,924
2022-1125,889
2022-1025,798
2022-0924,836
2022-0824,101
2022-0720,168
2022-0619,061
2022-0520,512
2022-0423,460
2022-0323,385
2022-0222,103
2022-0125,035
2021-1223,614
2021-1125,124
2021-1026,085
2021-0929,715
2021-0827,471
2021-0722,874
2021-0616,571
2021-0519,247
2021-0425,169
2021-0323,090
2021-0218,459
2021-0121,193
2020-1222,029
2020-1122,366
2020-1024,351
2020-0918,429
2020-0818,905
2020-0717,309
2020-0621,182
2020-0532,548
2020-0432,831
2020-0327,888
2020-0227,977
2020-0133,613
2019-1233,295
2019-1152,251
2019-1037,464
2019-0931,805
2019-0827,938
2019-0724,172
2019-0623,508
2019-0526,397
2019-0428,168
2019-0331,553
2019-0223,672
2019-0132,558
2018-1233,246
2018-1133,757
2018-1034,695
2018-0932,947
2018-0830,383
2018-0728,170
2018-0626,191
2018-0530,446
2018-0429,613
2018-0330,066
2018-0225,723
2018-0127,815
2017-1223,886
2017-1127,344
2017-1027,855
2017-0927,529
2017-0826,269
2017-0723,024
2017-0622,272
2017-0524,693
2017-0428,256
2017-0331,157
2017-0226,014
2017-0129,861
2016-1228,663
2016-1128,545
2016-1028,944
2016-0927,629
2016-0824,441
2016-0722,416
2016-0621,849
2016-0524,154
2016-0424,661
2016-0325,827
2016-0229,852
2016-0129,874
2015-1225,779
2015-1129,302
2015-1029,815
2015-0931,447
2015-0827,187
2015-0723,240

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Arthur Holly Compton Physics 1927
  • Ernest Lawrence Physics 1939
  • Walter Houser Brattain Physics 1956
  • Melvin Calvin Chemistry 1961
  • Norman Borlaug Peace 1970
  • Edward B. Lewis Medicine 1995
Show all 9
  • Louis Ignarro Medicine 1998
  • Daniel McFadden Economics 2000
  • Lars Peter Hansen Economics 2013

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1361408724), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.