Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Iowa City, IA

University of Iowa

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $15,316 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $28,596.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,762 ten years after entering, the 85th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 75% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1847
Enrollment, 2023
32,773
Website
uiowa.edu
Campus of University of Iowa

Billwhittaker (talk) at en.wikipedia · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPublic university in Iowa City, Iowa, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Iowa is a public research university in Iowa City, Iowa, United States. Founded in 1847, it is the oldest and largest university in the state. The University of Iowa is organized into 12 colleges offering more than 200 areas of study and 7 professional degrees.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Iowa”, revision 1362104476, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $28,596 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,316 and $26,266 a year depending on income at University of Iowa.

Statement of cost · University of Iowa

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$28,596
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$15,316
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$22,531
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$11,283

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $15,316; $30–48k: $15,489; $48–75k: $19,930; $75–110k: $23,811; over $110k: $26,266. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$15,316
$30k–$48k$15,489
$48k–$75k$19,930
$75k–$110k$23,811
Over $110k$26,266

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,762; the median graduate who borrowed owes $22,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$52,696
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$60,321
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
85th percentile among public 4-years
$64,762
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
76th percentile among public 4-years
$22,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$18,207

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $52,696; 8 yrs after entry: $60,321; 10 yrs after entry: $64,762. Median graduate debt: $22,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $22,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$52,696
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$60,321
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,762
Median graduate debt$22,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Iowa
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree543$65,473$24,250
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree475$145,651not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree391$89,537$23,165
Behavioral SciencesBachelor's Degree327not reportednot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree301$75,795$25,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsGraduate/Professional Certificate290not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree229$73,476$24,811
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree201$80,929$23,750
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree191$59,491$25,269
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree183$96,419$21,500
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree169$75,166$23,149
LawFirst Professional Degree168$110,931not reported
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree161$63,848$25,814
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree155$51,198$27,000
MedicineFirst Professional Degree151$178,334not reported
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherBachelor's Degree148not reported$24,386
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree143$90,952$22,500
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree141not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree139$63,699$24,250
Social WorkMaster's Degree138$60,458not reported
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesGraduate/Professional Certificate17not reportednot reported
DentistryFirst Professional Degree84$165,250not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree68$135,774not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesGraduate/Professional Certificate103not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsGraduate/Professional Certificate28not reportednot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree108$139,178not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingGraduate/Professional Certificate13not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Iowa: 22,264 undergraduates; 18% of students receive Pell grants; 84% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

84%

50th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

22,264

90th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

18%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

13th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

75%

finish within 150% of normal time

92nd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

22%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$72,993

93rd percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k16%
  • $30k–$48k12%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k19%
  • Over $110k38%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k16%
$30k–$48k12%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k19%
Over $110k38%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 5,010 people who studied at University of Iowa, most often in science & academia (46%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 46% (2,063 people); medicine 1.8% (80 people); law 2.5% (112 people); politics & gov 5.5% (246 people); business 1.3% (59 people); engineering & tech 1.3% (59 people); writing & journalism 12% (522 people); film & stage 3.2% (143 people); music 1.9% (85 people); visual arts 3.2% (146 people); sports 21% (951 people); religion 0.3% (12 people); military 0.8% (35 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia2,06345.7%
medicine801.8%
law1122.5%
politics & gov2465.5%
business591.3%
engineering & tech591.3%
writing & journalism52211.6%
film & stage1433.2%
music851.9%
visual arts1463.2%
sports95121.1%
religion120.3%
military350.8%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,172) · basketball player (561) · university teacher (521) · writer (321) · American football player (245) · politician (233) · poet (160) · novelist (135)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 25% for the 1840s to 33% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1830s12not reported
1840s2625%
1850s2219%
1860s41422%
1870s83021%
1880s3309%
1890s95913%
1900s2014312%
1910s2713017%
1920s4320417%
1930s4222416%
1940s6624621%
1950s7717630%
1960s6115129%
1970s509834%
1980s329525%
1990s209617%
2000s285833%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 29,198 in 2022-11.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-069,661
2026-0510,776
2026-0412,592
2026-0318,975
2026-0214,854
2026-0112,561
2025-1213,204
2025-1116,544
2025-1013,830
2025-0917,670
2025-0813,957
2025-0711,398
2025-0611,135
2025-0512,328
2025-0415,222
2025-0318,907
2025-0213,506
2025-0116,327
2024-1224,377
2024-1118,852
2024-1018,708
2024-0918,944
2024-0815,182
2024-0713,668
2024-0613,032
2024-0514,401
2024-0426,526
2024-0323,849
2024-0216,645
2024-0121,656
2023-1217,226
2023-1118,438
2023-1017,008
2023-0918,839
2023-0816,874
2023-0713,967
2023-0613,009
2023-0513,634
2023-0420,937
2023-0320,422
2023-0214,742
2023-0118,499
2022-1216,156
2022-1129,198
2022-1019,648
2022-0919,184
2022-0820,144
2022-0716,256
2022-0614,481
2022-0513,597
2022-0414,272
2022-0320,495
2022-0214,819
2022-0117,122
2021-1218,648
2021-1117,130
2021-1025,956
2021-0923,876
2021-0815,394
2021-0717,588
2021-0616,552
2021-0519,802
2021-0415,845
2021-0318,444
2021-0213,035
2021-0114,601
2020-1215,930
2020-1115,476
2020-1014,839
2020-0913,441
2020-0813,728
2020-0711,498
2020-0612,390
2020-0516,751
2020-0418,343
2020-0316,288
2020-0220,206
2020-0120,853
2019-1224,593
2019-1123,132
2019-1024,642
2019-0924,465
2019-0819,543
2019-0716,179
2019-0614,442
2019-0517,047
2019-0418,398
2019-0322,283
2019-0219,193
2019-0120,753
2018-1220,773
2018-1122,978
2018-1022,561
2018-0923,967
2018-0822,006
2018-0717,786
2018-0614,926
2018-0517,176
2018-0417,894
2018-0319,559
2018-0214,740
2018-0115,377
2017-1216,893
2017-1120,538
2017-1018,396
2017-0922,543
2017-0816,781
2017-0714,635
2017-0613,890
2017-0515,504
2017-0415,505
2017-0320,090
2017-0215,727
2017-0117,907
2016-1216,383
2016-1120,754
2016-1018,616
2016-0920,952
2016-0820,297
2016-0715,069
2016-0615,694
2016-0517,247
2016-0418,246
2016-0322,268
2016-0219,214
2016-0124,654
2015-1222,962
2015-1124,139
2015-1021,000
2015-0919,147
2015-0815,282
2015-0714,473

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1362104476), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.