Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Ames, IA

Iowa State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,582 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $24,018.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $63,386 ten years after entering, the 81st percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 75% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1858
Enrollment, 2023
32,126
Motto
“Science with practice”
Campus of Iowa State University

No machine-readable author provided. Manop assumed (based on copyright claims). · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPublic university in Ames, Iowa, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The Iowa State University of Science and Technology, also referred to as Iowa State University, is a public land-grant research university in Ames, Iowa, United States. Founded in 1858 as the Iowa Agricultural College and Model Farm, Iowa State became one of the nation's first designated land-grant institutions when the Iowa Legislature accepted the provisions of the 1862 Morrill Act on September 11, 1862. On July 4, 1959, the college was officially renamed Iowa State University of Science and Technology.

From the Wikipedia article “Iowa State University”, revision 1360705996, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $24,018 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,582 and $22,496 a year depending on income at Iowa State University.

Statement of cost · Iowa State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$24,018
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,582
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$18,589
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$10,787

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,582; $30–48k: $11,506; $48–75k: $15,463; $75–110k: $19,605; over $110k: $22,496. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,582
$30k–$48k$11,506
$48k–$75k$15,463
$75k–$110k$19,605
Over $110k$22,496

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $63,386; the median graduate who borrowed owes $22,869.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$53,873
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$59,021
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
81st percentile among public 4-years
$63,386
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
78th percentile among public 4-years
$22,869
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$18,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $53,873; 8 yrs after entry: $59,021; 10 yrs after entry: $63,386. Median graduate debt: $22,869. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $22,869.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$53,873
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$59,021
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$63,386
Median graduate debt$22,869

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Iowa State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree356$88,697$23,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree345$78,149$22,250
MarketingBachelor's Degree331$68,459$23,250
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree250$61,453$25,425
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree246$50,080$23,121
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree243$111,313$24,337
Animal SciencesBachelor's Degree235$55,971$21,500
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree231$49,890$25,000
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree216$55,046$27,000
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree212$75,665$21,750
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree177$68,687$16,972
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree174not reported$24,438
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree158$58,585$24,614
Veterinary MedicineFirst Professional Degree156$108,813not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree123not reportednot reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree123$86,261$25,250
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree121$92,551$26,572
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree118$73,400$23,250
Plant SciencesBachelor's Degree112$53,958$20,500
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree112$107,338$26,997
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree12$127,889not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree0$137,692not reported
StatisticsMaster's Degree12not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree0$104,181not reported
Plant SciencesMaster's Degree33$85,118not reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degreenot reported$122,139not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree106$108,762$24,663
Construction EngineeringBachelor's Degree58$95,401$20,500

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Iowa State University: 25,367 undergraduates; 19% of students receive Pell grants; 89% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

89%

65th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

25,367

92nd percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

19%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

14th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

75%

finish within 150% of normal time

93rd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

20%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$76,488

94th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k15%
  • $30k–$48k12%
  • $48k–$75k17%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k15%
$30k–$48k12%
$48k–$75k17%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 4,001 people who studied at Iowa State University, most often in science & academia (56%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 56% (1,764 people); medicine 1.2% (37 people); law 1.2% (38 people); politics & gov 5.9% (188 people); business 1.4% (44 people); engineering & tech 3.9% (122 people); writing & journalism 3.1% (99 people); film & stage 0.6% (19 people); music 0.2% (5 people); visual arts 1.3% (42 people); sports 24% (766 people); religion 0.3% (9 people); military 1.1% (36 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,76455.7%
medicine371.2%
law381.2%
politics & gov1885.9%
business441.4%
engineering & tech1223.9%
writing & journalism993.1%
film & stage190.6%
music50.2%
visual arts421.3%
sports76624.2%
religion90.3%
military361.1%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,152) · basketball player (593) · university teacher (394) · politician (175) · statistician (128) · American football player (103) · mathematician (78) · chemist (62)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 29% for the 1840s to 33% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 1 decade is marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1830snot reported1not reported
1840s2529%
1850s71237%
1860s32013%
1870s42813%
1880s42116%
1890s84116%
1900s76210%
1910s9879%
1920s1711513%
1930s1814111%
1940s1310711%
1950s2310119%
1960s197820%
1970s215926%
1980s138413%
1990s326732%
2000s214233%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 133,453 in 2019-08.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-066,919
2026-059,279
2026-048,955
2026-0315,831
2026-0210,151
2026-019,608
2025-1214,779
2025-1110,861
2025-1011,021
2025-0915,809
2025-0813,654
2025-0710,313
2025-069,413
2025-0510,333
2025-0410,734
2025-0315,985
2025-0211,678
2025-0114,322
2024-1219,851
2024-1115,894
2024-1016,692
2024-0917,863
2024-0814,192
2024-0712,030
2024-0611,518
2024-0513,411
2024-0417,410
2024-0325,038
2024-0218,693
2024-0122,971
2023-1218,149
2023-1119,793
2023-1018,501
2023-0920,326
2023-0817,970
2023-0714,467
2023-0613,286
2023-0513,997
2023-0416,138
2023-0319,254
2023-0215,686
2023-0122,630
2022-1217,736
2022-1118,441
2022-1017,489
2022-0920,376
2022-0822,197
2022-0718,194
2022-0617,233
2022-0516,508
2022-0414,880
2022-0327,707
2022-0218,132
2022-0118,113
2021-1217,117
2021-1118,480
2021-1020,132
2021-0925,470
2021-0816,491
2021-0724,424
2021-0618,227
2021-0520,093
2021-0417,077
2021-0315,428
2021-0212,956
2021-0116,022
2020-1215,609
2020-1114,086
2020-1016,926
2020-0912,287
2020-0813,050
2020-0710,983
2020-0611,358
2020-0514,497
2020-0416,493
2020-0316,542
2020-0218,102
2020-0118,504
2019-1220,494
2019-1119,536
2019-1020,440
2019-0946,160
2019-08133,453
2019-0713,747
2019-0612,792
2019-0515,150
2019-0415,458
2019-0321,168
2019-0217,447
2019-0125,795
2018-1228,600
2018-1126,417
2018-1028,952
2018-0928,735
2018-0824,096
2018-0719,776
2018-0618,983
2018-0518,938
2018-0419,721
2018-0320,985
2018-0215,098
2018-0115,237
2017-1218,918
2017-1120,588
2017-1022,515
2017-0921,454
2017-0816,071
2017-0714,433
2017-0612,736
2017-0514,622
2017-0414,425
2017-0325,957
2017-0214,856
2017-0118,273
2016-1215,163
2016-1118,222
2016-1019,191
2016-0920,019
2016-0818,444
2016-0717,277
2016-0618,794
2016-0521,095
2016-0422,550
2016-0325,943
2016-0219,934
2016-0124,254
2015-1220,582
2015-1122,023
2015-1020,801
2015-0917,575
2015-0816,138
2015-0714,460

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1360705996), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.