Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Joplin, MO

Missouri Southern State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $9,759 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $19,568.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $42,620 ten years after entering, the 25th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 42% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
4,658

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $19,568 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $9,759 and $15,083 a year depending on income at Missouri Southern State University.

Statement of cost · Missouri Southern State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$19,568
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$9,759
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,007
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,960

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $9,759; $30–48k: $10,132; $48–75k: $11,233; $75–110k: $14,578; over $110k: $15,083. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$9,759
$30k–$48k$10,132
$48k–$75k$11,233
$75k–$110k$14,578
Over $110k$15,083

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $42,620; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,174.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$37,866
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$42,477
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
25th percentile among public 4-years
$42,620
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
45th percentile among public 4-years
$19,174
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$11,650

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $37,866; 8 yrs after entry: $42,477; 10 yrs after entry: $42,620. Median graduate debt: $19,174. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,174.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$37,866
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$42,477
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$42,620
Median graduate debt$19,174

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Missouri Southern State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree189$57,377$20,737
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree88$39,648$21,850
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree80$40,509$31,000
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma71$40,880$18,649
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma60not reportednot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree52not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree46$55,730$17,750
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree33$43,976$24,120
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree31$42,457$23,609
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree30$42,119$23,147
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma29not reportednot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree27$61,244$25,374
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree26$45,715$24,947
Computer ProgrammingAssociate's Degree22$62,755not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree19$64,998not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree19not reportednot reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma18not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree18$51,315$13,375
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree15$66,025$25,774
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree4$56,099$21,463
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree1not reportednot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Missouri Southern State University: 3,019 undergraduates; 34% of students receive Pell grants; 97% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

97%

91st percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

3,019

36th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

34%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

56th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

42%

finish within 150% of normal time

42nd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

45%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$33,601

47th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k34%
  • $30k–$48k19%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k34%
$30k–$48k19%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.