Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Buffalo, NY

Canisius University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $12,781 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $44,322.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $60,681 ten years after entering, the 71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 66% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
2,859

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $44,322 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,404 and $24,170 a year depending on income at Canisius University.

Statement of cost · Canisius University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$44,322
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$12,781
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$17,940
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$34,500

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $12,781; $30–48k: $12,404; $48–75k: $16,151; $75–110k: $21,341; over $110k: $24,170. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$12,781
$30k–$48k$12,404
$48k–$75k$16,151
$75k–$110k$21,341
Over $110k$24,170

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $60,681; the median graduate who borrowed owes $24,250.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$46,089
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$55,431
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$60,681
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
48th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$24,250
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$19,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $46,089; 8 yrs after entry: $55,431; 10 yrs after entry: $60,681. Median graduate debt: $24,250. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $24,250.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$46,089
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$55,431
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$60,681
Median graduate debt$24,250

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Canisius University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree61$65,585not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree53$67,796$21,875
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree48$57,161$27,000
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree44$54,352$25,250
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree40$64,805$26,254
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree37$96,181not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree34$81,899not reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyBachelor's Degree30$40,744$25,000
EconomicsBachelor's Degree28$68,624$25,500
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree28$75,872$26,997
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree26not reportednot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree23$53,082not reported
Show all 23 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree21$58,960not reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyMaster's Degree21not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree21$62,462$24,015
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate20not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree17not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree16$58,335$27,000
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree16$52,428not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree12$55,663$22,690
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree13$56,527$23,500
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree8not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Canisius University: 1,685 undergraduates; 32% of students receive Pell grants; 72% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

72%

47th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,685

70th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

32%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

47th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

66%

finish within 150% of normal time

66th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

23%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$65,323

77th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.