Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Mars Hill, NC

Mars Hill University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $17,021 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $50,099.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $44,781 ten years after entering, the 27th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 45% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,100

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $50,099 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $17,020 and $21,972 a year depending on income at Mars Hill University.

Statement of cost · Mars Hill University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$50,099
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$17,021
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$19,910
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$37,736

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $17,021; $30–48k: $17,020; $48–75k: $20,628; $75–110k: $21,637; over $110k: $21,972. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$17,021
$30k–$48k$17,020
$48k–$75k$20,628
$75k–$110k$21,637
Over $110k$21,972

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $44,781; the median graduate who borrowed owes $26,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$35,680
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$41,050
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
27th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$44,781
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$26,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$18,172

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $35,680; 8 yrs after entry: $41,050; 10 yrs after entry: $44,781. Median graduate debt: $26,000. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $26,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$35,680
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$41,050
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$44,781
Median graduate debt$26,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Mars Hill University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree30$50,368$27,506
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree21not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree19not reported$27,000
Social WorkBachelor's Degree19$43,413$29,133
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree17not reported$27,000
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree9not reported$24,636
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree8$51,226$26,040
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree6$43,429not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
ChemistryBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree5not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree5$46,522not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
Public AdministrationBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Mars Hill University: 1,044 undergraduates; 46% of students receive Pell grants; 68% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

68%

39th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,044

52nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

46%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

74th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

45%

finish within 150% of normal time

28th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

34%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$38,916

43rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k33%
  • $30k–$48k22%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k33%
$30k–$48k22%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.