Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Memphis, TN

University of Memphis

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,607 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $25,169.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $48,458 ten years after entering, the 45th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 51% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
25,421

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $25,169 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,607 and $18,691 a year depending on income at University of Memphis.

Statement of cost · University of Memphis

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$25,169
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,607
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,397
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$10,728

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,607; $30–48k: $10,968; $48–75k: $13,923; $75–110k: $17,384; over $110k: $18,691. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,607
$30k–$48k$10,968
$48k–$75k$13,923
$75k–$110k$17,384
Over $110k$18,691

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $48,458; the median graduate who borrowed owes $23,300.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$40,921
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$44,264
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
45th percentile among public 4-years
$48,458
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
82nd percentile among public 4-years
$23,300
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,809

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $40,921; 8 yrs after entry: $44,264; 10 yrs after entry: $48,458. Median graduate debt: $23,300. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $23,300.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$40,921
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$44,264
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$48,458
Median graduate debt$23,300

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Memphis
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree424$50,267$27,500
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree293$75,543$27,168
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree258not reportednot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree221$45,387$30,430
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree216$111,623not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree188$43,526$27,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree136$58,570$25,500
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree122$52,652not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree110$65,542$26,975
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree105$49,589$27,000
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree100$63,377$27,000
LawFirst Professional Degree99$83,228not reported
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree86$50,833$25,000
MarketingBachelor's Degree81$51,803$21,904
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree76$121,773not reported
Special Education and TeachingBachelor's Degree70$44,607$23,397
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree68$79,929$24,672
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementGraduate/Professional Certificate63not reportednot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree61$41,028$28,850
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree61$72,291$29,768
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree15not reportednot reported
Curriculum and InstructionDoctoral Degree10not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree42$94,598not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree19$102,160not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree14$94,793$25,000
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree50$86,402$27,500

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Memphis: 12,701 undergraduates; 41% of students receive Pell grants; 72% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

72%

29th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

12,701

78th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

41%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

75th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

51%

finish within 150% of normal time

60th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

37%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$28,800

37th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k40%
  • $30k–$48k20%
  • $48k–$75k15%
  • $75k–$110k11%
  • Over $110k14%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k40%
$30k–$48k20%
$48k–$75k15%
$75k–$110k11%
Over $110k14%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.