Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Houston, TX

University of Houston

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,929 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $26,185.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $62,377 ten years after entering, the 77th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 65% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
52,007

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $26,185 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,220 and $23,811 a year depending on income at University of Houston.

Statement of cost · University of Houston

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$26,185
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,929
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$14,276
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$9,717

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,929; $30–48k: $10,220; $48–75k: $12,528; $75–110k: $19,197; over $110k: $23,811. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,929
$30k–$48k$10,220
$48k–$75k$12,528
$75k–$110k$19,197
Over $110k$23,811

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $62,377; the median graduate who borrowed owes $18,194.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$52,768
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$58,739
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
77th percentile among public 4-years
$62,377
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
39th percentile among public 4-years
$18,194
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$14,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $52,768; 8 yrs after entry: $58,739; 10 yrs after entry: $62,377. Median graduate debt: $18,194. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $18,194.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$52,768
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$58,739
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$62,377
Median graduate debt$18,194

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Houston
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree693$52,111$20,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree531$74,757$18,125
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree381$80,588$17,875
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree368$57,412$22,298
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree350$105,956$18,751
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree346$62,349$17,750
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree327$84,336$16,750
MarketingBachelor's Degree315$65,181$17,370
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree285$54,841$21,000
LawFirst Professional Degree271$123,404not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree269$58,563$21,500
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree239$71,752$14,874
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Social WorkMaster's Degree231$62,582not reported
Computer Systems AnalysisBachelor's Degree224$87,354$24,990
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree213$61,848$19,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree200$130,338not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree182$96,269$20,000
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree182$51,879$21,423
Construction Engineering Technology/TechnicianBachelor's Degree167$94,660$22,629
EconomicsBachelor's Degree166$74,425$19,500
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementMaster's Degree49not reportednot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree122$138,025not reported
OptometryFirst Professional Degree92$110,688not reported
Chemical EngineeringMaster's Degree6not reportednot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree32not reportednot reported
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree24$97,668not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree41$102,171not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesMaster's Degree21$110,977not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Houston: 38,380 undergraduates; 42% of students receive Pell grants; 74% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

74%

33rd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

38,380

98th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

42%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

77th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

65%

finish within 150% of normal time

83rd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

40%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$33,198

47th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k36%
  • $30k–$48k20%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110k11%
  • Over $110k16%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k36%
$30k–$48k20%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110k11%
Over $110k16%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.